Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo and Corsair Vengeance on P8Z68 Board? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 02:02 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
apav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I bought all my parts for my first build besides the cpu cooler... I don't plan on overclocking (maybe a little later) and I want my case cooler and quieter, so I feel like the Hyper 212 Evo does that very well:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103099

My question is, will it fit? I got Corsair memory which is VERY tall with their heatsinks:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233180

I'm using a ASUS P8Z68-V board. A lot of people said (with the Hyper 212 Plus) that it doesn't fit in their first memory bank, but is it different with the Evo, even if I raise the fan higher? Also is there any performance difference if I use the 2nd and 4th memory channels instead of the 1st and 3rd (if I can't fit the Corsair in the first slot)?

Thanks guys

-=]░▒▓███ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club ███▓▒░[=-
apav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 02:05 AM
PC Gamer
 
Azuredragon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
you can raise the fan higher or do what i did and put your ram in the 2nd and 4th slots and no there's no performance difference if you did that

Azuredragon1 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 03:56 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
apav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm I'll give it a look. I don't think the fan can go high enough...


Also is there any indication on the heat sink as to which way the heat is being exhausted?

-=]░▒▓███ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club ███▓▒░[=-
apav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
apav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if putting the RAM in the 2nd and 4th slots will differ in performance from the 1st and 3rd?

-=]░▒▓███ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club ███▓▒░[=-
apav is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 07:07 PM
Fan Man
 
denial_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
denial_ is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 07:08 PM
3.5ghz
 
rdfloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Most motherboards recommend the 2 & 4 slots first. My Sabertooth uses 1 & 3 for the second set of DIMMs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Peen go_quote.gif
If Logitech and Corsair's support teamed up, the world would divide by zero.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS_Patrick go_quote.gif
So I gathered from this thread that the OP is a raging homosexual and he owns an alienware...
rdfloyd is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 07:12 PM
Fan Man
 
denial_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
denial_ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off