Anyone retro fit a Zalman 9700 on a 5000e BE - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-18-2008, 10:23 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
lv42dy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have OC'd to 3150 and monitor temp with Core temp, sometimes temp goes up to 60, therefore want to install a Zalman 9700, but unsure as to what the process should be.

5000+ BE
Crosshair MoBo
x2 2gig sticks of Crucial Ballistic ram
NVidia570 chip set

lv42dy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-18-2008, 11:57 PM
>9000
 
[PWN]Schubie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 7,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Send a message via MSN to [PWN]Schubie Send a message via Skype™ to [PWN]Schubie
you shouldnt have to retro fit it, dont the 9700s come with mounting for am2?

post-flame-small.gifOverclock.net Downloads Sectionpost-flame-small.gif

Overclock.net Outdoors Thread

[PWN]Schubie is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-18-2008, 11:57 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Send a message via AIM to Dillard13 Send a message via MSN to Dillard13
Zalman's DO come with a mounting bracket for am2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by $till LegendaryU2K go_quote.gif
Having the best is cool, but having something good is even better.
Quote:
Originally Posted by logo199 go_quote.gif
Don't kill your self, be honorable, go out in a hail of police gunfire, fight you way to the finish.
Quote:
Originally Posted by $till LegendaryU2K
I have no plans to die
Dillard13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 03-18-2008, 11:59 PM
You're a daisy if you do.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Independence, Mo
Posts: 17,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Send a message via MSN to lemans81 Send a message via Yahoo to lemans81 Send a message via Skype™ to lemans81
Yep I am using one right now.

If you can judge a wise man
By the color of his skin
Then mister you're a better man than I
-Aerosmith Livin' on the Edge
lemans81 is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 12:01 AM
>9000
 
[PWN]Schubie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 7,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Send a message via MSN to [PWN]Schubie Send a message via Skype™ to [PWN]Schubie
so they do come with them as i thought
hmm, just to double check, you are just trying to mount it on an AM2 board correct?

post-flame-small.gifOverclock.net Downloads Sectionpost-flame-small.gif

Overclock.net Outdoors Thread

[PWN]Schubie is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 12:41 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
lv42dy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
do I just remove the fan that came with the CPU, remove the paste with alcohol type cleaner, wait for it to dry, confirm its clean, apply new paste that comes with the 9700 and snap the fan on,,,,,,,,,,,,,is it that easy?......somehow I doubt it............and yes I will turn it off first.

5000+ BE
Crosshair MoBo
x2 2gig sticks of Crucial Ballistic ram
NVidia570 chip set

lv42dy is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 12:48 AM
☰ Syrillian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 10,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Send a message via AIM to RonindeBeatrice
Quote:
Originally Posted by lv42dy View Post
do I just remove the fan that came with the CPU, remove the paste with alcohol type cleaner, wait for it to dry, confirm its clean, apply new paste that comes with the 9700 and snap the fan on,,,,,,,,,,,,,is it that easy?......somehow I doubt it............and yes I will turn it off first.
It really is that easy. The AM2 bracket is completely screwless too, so it's even easier. Getting that metal hold clip through the heatpipes can be an exercise the first time you do it.
RonindeBeatrice is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 12:56 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
lv42dy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Excellent, will order it now from Newegg, also present myself a gig of ram for easter.
Thank you very much for the support, let you know how it goes.

5000+ BE
Crosshair MoBo
x2 2gig sticks of Crucial Ballistic ram
NVidia570 chip set

lv42dy is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 01:08 AM
You're a daisy if you do.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Independence, Mo
Posts: 17,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Send a message via MSN to lemans81 Send a message via Yahoo to lemans81 Send a message via Skype™ to lemans81
The 9700 is large, so make sure you have enough case, also its very snug on the board, and is hard to get off in some cases. My 590sli board the south bridge heatsink was in the way, on my 790FX its fine.

If you can judge a wise man
By the color of his skin
Then mister you're a better man than I
-Aerosmith Livin' on the Edge
lemans81 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off