A Mind Numbing T.R.U.E. Lapathon - (With POPUP Pictures!) - Page 4 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 01:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
Wow, three hours at 320 grit...

Maybe you should have started with 80 grit?

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 07:10 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Biloxi, MS
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So... Will you do mine?

BTW, whats the diffearence between tapered edges and untapered? (besides the obvious shape)
Carlin is offline  
post #33 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
sk8 d1tches!
 
s1rrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 6,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 627
Update:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So this morning, around 9am, in preparation for plugging my new Q6600 into my P5B Deluxe ...

Like a fool ...

I used Asus's windows based bios flash program ("Asus Update") to update my very old P5B bios to the latest version ... something I knew would be necessary to use the Q6600.

*** MISTAKE!! ***



After flashing, my computer wouldn't boot ... and I hadn't even installed the Q6600 yet!

I reset the bios, cleared CMOS via jumper for about two hours and still not go. Seems the bios had been completely wiped/fried/wasted/etc. by the flash routine ...

Anyway ...

I madly set about shopping at Fry's for a new motherboard ...




$350.00 dollars later...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All they had in stock was a hugely expensive Asus P5E3 Deluxe ... and so I went ahead and dropped the change on it ... not really knowing if it's good or if it overclocks well or anything else ... (I'm a diehard Asus fan, mind you ... the occasional setback not withstanding of course).

...



(anyone know anything about this board?)




$170.00 more dollars later...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Once I got home, I realized that my beloved Mushkin D9 DDR2 sticks would not work and so had to go back and get some DDR3 ram.

Once again ... I had no idea what to get so went for the only thing in stock that looked like it was meant to overclock and that was from a reputable company (I've got 15 days to return this stuff, so give me some feedback if you know anything about it!) ...

...



(anyone know anything about this RAM?)




Installing the T.R.U.E. and booting...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So I finally get back home and put everything together.

NOTE: I really like the T.R.U.E. mounting mechanism; the mount pressure seems to be quite good and overall it was quite simple. I used AS5 and not the included compound.

Here's some shots:

...


Sitting pretty on the new (fxxxing expensive!) motherboard:




...

I strapped on two Silverstone FM121's that will be running at a fairly low speed for daily use ... 1600RPM or so ... very quiet at that rate ...



Nice looking joint if I do say so myself ...



Questionable BIOS temps...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mind you, I've just got this thing built and so have only the stock temps as reported by the BIOS ...

But so far I'm showing 19C at idle with the FM121's running at inaudible levels (very slow). Somehow, considering my room is 24C ... I just don't buy this ...





...

Again, the above is being reported in a room that is 24C according to my wall thermometer which makes me (seriously) question the accuracy of the BIOS temp ... I mean ... c'mon ...




Need some suggestions ....

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm totally new to the quad core scene ...

That said ...

I need some tips on what other, more experienced Q6600 owners have found to be the best temp reporting tools for use with Windows XP.

Like I said above ... I totally question the accuracy of the bios temperature since it's several degrees below room ambient (just not possible) ...

Most of my standard apps, TAT, MB Monitor, etc. ... are all rather old versions as they were for use with my old Core 2 rig.

And I know that most temp reporting apps will give different readings so I'm hoping some of you who have already waded through the various apps will please chime in and give me some tips for updating my apps/utils ...

Any tips would be appreciated ...


s1rrah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 07:49 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Negative enthalpy much?

It's and Asus, I wouldn't trust it.

You could just ignore it and accept that fact that your 210310 hour lapping job provided you with a more than ideal heat transfer area.


Drax is offline  
post #35 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 07:49 PM
4.0ghz
 
Criswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bedford, Texas.
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Ok now that just looks dead sexy. Sexy TRUE Sexy TRUE...
Criswell is offline  
post #36 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 07:50 PM
Ding ding ding ding ding!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boca, FL
Posts: 4,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 674
CoreTemp 0.97.1 accurately reports Q6600 G0 temperatures
s1rrah likes this.

Watercooling Loop: MCP655 Vario -> Black Ice GTX360 -> Stinger Diamond Max -> Heatkiller GPU-X² -> MicroRes

afzsom is offline  
post #37 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 07:57 PM
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Schaumburg, Illinois
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 185
A note for future laps, starting at 100 or 220 makes it go a lot faster. I lapped my apogee gtx in about a hour starting at 100 then moving to a higher grit every 10 mins or so.


*Completed Projects: ChemX480 , Redux*
kennymester is offline  
post #38 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
sk8 d1tches!
 
s1rrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 6,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drax View Post
Negative enthalpy much?

It's and Asus, I wouldn't trust it.

You could just ignore it and accept that fact that your 210310 hour lapping job provided you with a more than ideal heat transfer area.


...

Speaking of negative enthalpy:

Check out what Asus's gay "Suite" reports:



(not T.R.U.E. at all in my best estimate)

...

My rather old version of Coretemp shows numbers far more believable:



...

I'll take 7C over ambient at stock idle ... fair enough.



I'm going to download the latest version of Coretemp and will re test.

BTW ... as mentioned, ... those are stock temps ...

I'm not going to overclock until I've ran everything for a few days.

Just happy to have a working rig again ...


s1rrah is offline  
post #39 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 08:10 PM
Ding ding ding ding ding!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boca, FL
Posts: 4,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 674
Also, that AI Suite hints at the fact you've got the power saving functions enabled in your BIOS. Not sure if you had them enabled or disabled on the P5B Deluxe you lost, but here's just a friendly reminder

Watercooling Loop: MCP655 Vario -> Black Ice GTX360 -> Stinger Diamond Max -> Heatkiller GPU-X² -> MicroRes

afzsom is offline  
post #40 of 54 Old 04-06-2008, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter
sk8 d1tches!
 
s1rrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 6,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by afzsom View Post
Also, that AI Suite hints at the fact you've got the power saving functions enabled in your BIOS. Not sure if you had them enabled or disabled on the P5B Deluxe you lost, but here's just a friendly reminder
So give me the dirt on the power saving thing ...

Should I disable everything?


s1rrah is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off