Tuniq Placement question - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 15 Old 04-12-2008, 03:51 AM
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
That's a good question. I've heard some people say they spread it with a razor. But, even though I'm a perfectionist, I just put a bb sized (slightly bigger, but I'm not perfect hehe) on the dead center, then tightened it down all the way. After that, I took it off to check how it spreaded. And then I saw where I needed to add more. But I added too much, so I used the applicator to suck the excess back inside, then I put the cap on. Then I re-installed the TT, and that seemed to spread it fairly evenly. It wasn't perfect, but my temperatures seem fine so far (I am using Real Temp since I hear it's recommended for the e84000).

But I suppose I could've done it in one shot had I spread it with a razor. But I didn't have the patience for it.

Hmm, that was the long answer.

I guess what I meant was you could just place the tuniq tower all by itself (no screws or cpu or anything) on top of the socket to see if the mobo will allow you to mount it either of the two ways.
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 15 Old 04-12-2008, 03:58 AM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Vitaminx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Vitaminx is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 04-12-2008, 04:05 AM
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I really hope it fits both ways to allow you the freedom to choose, unlike my mobo.
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 15 Old 04-12-2008, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
Vitaminx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Vitaminx is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 04-12-2008, 03:58 PM
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Oh, I thought you'd put it together as a "dry run", as I guess it can be called.

Now that I'm much more awake, I can better explain what I was talking about:

I meant that you can get just the mobo and tuniq tower out, and then place the TT without any of the additional hardware it comes with, and just set it on top of the socket to see how it will fit once you finally install it.
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off