Crooked Intel HSF Killed my CPU - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 15 Old 04-26-2008, 04:06 PM
↓ dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ ↓
 
coffeejunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Midsomer Norton, UK
Posts: 11,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 776
I did exactly the same as you, I felt such a n00b (I'm not a noob, i've built loads of pc's - my first 775 though). It was hardly in contact with the cpu. Temps were up to 85*C. I nearly crapped myself. Still works great though. These cpu's can take alot of heat provided its not for too long. Glad you got it sorted out


bulb.gifCan I Overclock My Brain?... All I Gotta Do Is Increase Its Stock Voltage bulb.gif
cheers.gifBritish Overclockers Club cheers.gif


ATi Clubs and Essential Threads - ATi Aftermarket Cooling Database - ATi Overclocking Guide - ATi Driver Guide
coffeejunky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 15 Old 04-26-2008, 04:10 PM
I can change this?? Neat!
 
Choggs396's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 893
I remember when I installed the HSF on my Athlon XP 2500+ Barton incorrectly one time. I checked in the BIOS and it said over 90C!! @.@ (Shortly before it shut down.)

Still works today though, chuggin along, OC'd to 2.2GHz.

Some CPU's can take a lot of abuse, temperature-wise, before they fry.

I think, therefore I am.
- René Descartes


R.I.P. Syrillian

post-flame-small.gifOverclock.net Professionalism Initiative post-flame-small.gif
Choggs396 is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 04-26-2008, 04:12 PM
Go Yankees!
 
Sonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 3,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Would Intel be able to tell if they were running improperly? If there wasn't burn marks and if it worked or didn't.

Sonic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 15 Old 04-26-2008, 04:14 PM
↓ dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ ↓
 
coffeejunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Midsomer Norton, UK
Posts: 11,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
Would Intel be able to tell if they were running improperly? If there wasn't burn marks and if it worked or didn't.
I don't think they check to be honest. Just see whether it works or not and send a new cpu out, though they probably could tell if they really wanted to. Mind you, morally there are issues.


bulb.gifCan I Overclock My Brain?... All I Gotta Do Is Increase Its Stock Voltage bulb.gif
cheers.gifBritish Overclockers Club cheers.gif


ATi Clubs and Essential Threads - ATi Aftermarket Cooling Database - ATi Overclocking Guide - ATi Driver Guide
coffeejunky is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 04-26-2008, 06:29 PM
 
Xx573v3xX_Z28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by G|F.E.A.D|Killa View Post
did anyone inspect their socket before putting the CPU in i know i didnt lol. and never use the stock cooler it sucks really bad
Its a choice of opinion I loved mine. I got 3.4ghz on the stock cooler and never loaded over 60c
Xx573v3xX_Z28 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off