[Official] Noctua NH-D14 Club - Page 37 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3983 Old 04-02-2010, 09:22 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 102
K, i7 w3520 4.326g 206x21 1.376v (i think vtt is at 1.26v or 1.28v) HT on / cooled by Indigo Xtreme + NH-D14 using stock fans + an extra shrouded ZM-F3 pull fan: Hottest core after 55 minutes of max memory Linx = 87C

I declare this great victory! It's hard to compare between Ven X and this one since I took my VX temp in the middle of the night and I just took my temp here at 7PM, both with windows open. I'd say definitely the ambient was lower when I took my VX temp. Btw, VX TIM was MX-3, which is really excellent stuff.

Anyways I'm quite happy with this setup for now. No more wobbling and uber performance. Gonna do a few more things with it and see if I can get temps down lower.

Btw, did the fans come with the clips already installed for you guys too? Is there anyway to take them off and put them on different fans?

LarsMarkelson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3983 Old 04-03-2010, 01:39 PM
Commodore 64
 
Styxy-UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I installed mine today, seems to be running hotter than my Megahalems that had Scythe SFlex Push/Pull. Dunno whether it is just cause fans push less air or I under did it on the TIM.

Quote:
Btw, did the fans come with the clips already installed for you guys too? Is there anyway to take them off and put them on different fans?
Yeh I couldn't see a way of removing the clips from the fan. Wanted to put another P14 on the front that I have. Hopefully someone knows how to do it.

Styxy-UK is offline  
post #363 of 3983 Old 04-03-2010, 01:43 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Which speed S-Flex? G?

LarsMarkelson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #364 of 3983 Old 04-03-2010, 03:21 PM
Data Beats Theory AirGoes Where You Push It
 
ehume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styxy-UK View Post
I installed mine today, seems to be running hotter than my Megahalems that had Scythe SFlex Push/Pull. Dunno whether it is just cause fans push less air or I under did it on the TIM.



Yeh I couldn't see a way of removing the clips from the fan. Wanted to put another P14 on the front that I have. Hopefully someone knows how to do it.
Doubt another P14 will fit over RAMs. You could write to Noctua to get a third set of clips and put a P14 there as an exhaust.

Something I will be trying as soon as I am done fan testing with the Megahalems: Scythe Kaze Maru 1900 rpm 140mm fan in place of the P14. The KM shares the same 120mm standard holes as the P14. Same is true for the Kaze Maru 2, which comes in a 1700 rpm version.
ehume is offline  
post #365 of 3983 Old 04-04-2010, 03:37 AM
Commodore 64
 
Styxy-UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarsMarkelson View Post
Which speed S-Flex? G?
Yeh the 1600RPM ones, I had the rear one running at 75% though on Megahalems cause it made a weird noise.

Styxy-UK is offline  
post #366 of 3983 Old 04-04-2010, 08:27 AM
Commodore 64
 
330d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaishi View Post
Your board has the same layout as mine. The only difference is the southbridge cooling system, and the addition of a few I/O devices on the back panel. Otherwise, it is the same. My NH-D14 fits in the P183 perfectly without removing any fans, and I'm sure yours will too.

Cheers mate.
Thanks man, now I can sleep

Btw, anyone has did some extra precautions for this heavy beast, like this:


330d is offline  
post #367 of 3983 Old 04-04-2010, 11:22 AM
rms
Commodore 64
 
rms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Ok, add me to the list! Here's a pic of my old mobo -- Name that heatsink! -- and a couple of my new one, Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H:



Nice warping there, haha! This heatsink cooled a dualcore opteron @ 2.9ghz very nicely though, for about 2 years.



This is in a very old case (Aopen HX-08), and notice the Noctua sticks out the side There's also no case opening for exhaust fans, it'll have to be replaced at some point.

The motherboard is the Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H with a 955BE and Corsair 1600DDR3. It runs games fine at 3.9-4ghz and 1.45v vcore, but I haven't done stress testing on all 4 cores yet, so take that with a grain of salt.

Under windows7 my Windows Experience numbers are all at 7.5, except the harddrive, with a 3dmark06 score of 17000. The cpu gets to 45C or so after a couple hours gaming, but the reported system temp slowly rises to 60+C, and this concerns me. I'm thinking a serious watercooling setup with VRM & chipset waterblocks would have been a better investment for me, but no complaints with the Noctua. Right now it's idling at 3.9ghz 1.45v, 35C cpu & 43C system.

BTW, I just threw this into my windows7 install without reinstalling the os, it went fairly smoothly, though I had to reinstall the soundcard & videocard drivers. Also, windows7 failed to recognize 2 of the 4 cores (only 2 showed in Task Manager display). This is a known bug, and the fix for it is here:

"HOWTO: Get Windows 7 to detect your new multi-core processor"
http://social.answers.microsoft.com/...f-66c2928d6de4

Anyone know of chipset & VRM waterblocks that would fit on this motherboard?

rms
rms is offline  
post #368 of 3983 Old 04-04-2010, 12:14 PM
rms
Commodore 64
 
rms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Another quick question: Anyone tried sealing or 'shrouding' this entire heatsink to prevent air from bleeding out around the sides of the fans? Even using just plain plastic food wrapping? Might be a fun experiment!!

rms
rms is offline  
post #369 of 3983 Old 04-04-2010, 01:33 PM
733mhz
 
whoisron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
has anyone tried replacing the noctua stock fans that come with the d14? with lets say gentle typhoons15's, do you think it would produce a big temperature difference or will it probably be minimal like 1 or 2 degrees?
whoisron is offline  
post #370 of 3983 Old 04-04-2010, 03:41 PM
rms
Commodore 64
 
rms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoisron View Post
has anyone tried replacing the noctua stock fans that come with the d14? with lets say gentle typhoons15's, do you think it would produce a big temperature difference or will it probably be minimal like 1 or 2 degrees?
People have certainly done this. I'm going to try it with a pair of Panaflo M1A (~80cfm 38mm 120mm) fans which I have from my previous build, leaving the middle stock fan in place. I'll also attempt a simple shrouding experiment using either plastic wrap or aluminum foil to prevent air from bleeding out around the fans, to see what effect it has. Hopefully within a day or two!

rms
rms is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off