Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus/EVO Club - Page 225 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2241 of 6667 Old 06-10-2011, 06:18 PM
Commodore 128D
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NE Wisconsin
Posts: 8,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markeh;13824581 
I'm soon getting myself a H212+ for my sigrig, as the stock cooler is a bit too noisy for my liking. I'm a bit concerned about installation and TIM application, as well as a rough idea on temp and noise improvements.

I get about 34c idle and 47c at load (DiRT 3... my rig has never worked properly with Prime95, yet passes all other tests fine). I guess the best method of application is via credit card, as seen somewhere around page 110 or something. Now for installation from what I gather, I'll have to rip the board out of the case.

The Zalman Z7 Plus has a cpu retention plate access hole in the motherboard tray so you probably will not need to remove the mobo to install it.

See the Hyper 212+ FAQ in my sig for instructions for properly applying the TIM.

34C Idle and 47C at load are actually very good temps, especially for a stock cooler. That gives you some room to raise your vcore a bit for stability. When you run Prime, a hard lock or BSOD (especially the 0x124 BSOD} is usually lack of vcore or vtt, but when one core fails a prime test while the others plug away it is generally an mch or ref voltage.

Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PapaSmurf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2242 of 6667 Old 06-11-2011, 01:48 AM
Overclocker in Training
 
abu46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by krnb0iek View Post
With 2 empty 5.25" drive bays, you wont be able to fit a 120mm fan properly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCrap View Post
Yea you need 3 empty drive bays.
i will be putting an 80mm fan, which will fit fine in 2 empty drive bays that i have

Quote:
Originally Posted by Faster_is_better View Post
Most people just ziptie the fans in to whatever they can inside. Holes in the sides where the drive bays screw in or whatever they can get a zip tie to hook to.
guess zip ties can loosen over time and produce vibration and noise, though using double sided tape can be handy as iCrap said
abu46 is offline  
post #2243 of 6667 Old 06-11-2011, 02:09 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffejrxx View Post
if its crashing with prime95, up the ram voltage a little

open the other side of the case to see if ther is an opening in the mobo tray
Upping the RAM voltage causes 0x124 BSODs.
Having said that however, I've not tried P95 since I lowered my RAM voltage (was at 1.65 with BSODs, back down at 1.5 and it's been fine since)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaSmurf View Post
The Zalman Z7 Plus has a cpu retention plate access hole in the motherboard tray so you probably will not need to remove the mobo to install it.

See the Hyper 212+ FAQ in my sig for instructions for properly applying the TIM.

34C Idle and 47C at load are actually very good temps, especially for a stock cooler. That gives you some room to raise your vcore a bit for stability. When you run Prime, a hard lock or BSOD (especially the 0x124 BSOD} is usually lack of vcore or vtt, but when one core fails a prime test while the others plug away it is generally an mch or ref voltage.
I do have good temps I think, but the noise of that thing.. it's appalling. It's getting quieter, though, strangely, as the days go on...

As said above, 0x124 BSOD occured when my RAM voltage was at 1.65 (raised it to that about a week after I built the rig, as we were having BSODs with Windows quite frequently)
(but not when running Prime, it just occured every 6 days or so). Since I lowered it to 1.5, which was about November, it's never skipped a beat. I might try running Prime again, I've not run it in a while (since the 955 or the 6870 were installed)

Cameras: Sony A200 w/ Sony 18-70mm, Sigma DG 70-300mm, Sony 50mm f1.8, Panasonic Lumix TZ35
Other: Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge (black), 4th gen iPod touch (white 64GB), iPhone 5S (black 32GB), 4th gen iPad (white 64GB)
2004 Renault Megane 1.6 VVT Dynamique | 2010 15" MacBook Pro (for work)


Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant 

Markeh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2244 of 6667 Old 06-15-2011, 04:59 AM
Overclocker in Training
 
abu46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i was thinking of moving my case's exhaust fan to push config. on my 212+ as the exhaust hole is in line and only few centimeters away from my 212

will it have drastic effect on overall case cooling??
abu46 is offline  
post #2245 of 6667 Old 06-15-2011, 11:15 AM
1.7ghz
 
krnb0iek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu46 View Post
i was thinking of moving my case's exhaust fan to push config. on my 212+ as the exhaust hole is in line and only few centimeters away from my 212

will it have drastic effect on overall case cooling??
Will you still have enough exhaust airflow? Keep in mind that you want to maintain a negative airflow in your case, meaning more air exhaust than air intake to prevent dead spots.
krnb0iek is offline  
post #2246 of 6667 Old 06-15-2011, 02:14 PM
Commodore 128D
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NE Wisconsin
Posts: 8,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu46;13879028 
i was thinking of moving my case's exhaust fan to push config. on my 212+ as the exhaust hole is in line and only few centimeters away from my 212

will it have drastic effect on overall case cooling??

Give it a try. But if you do you'll need to change the fan(s) on the 212+ to correspond to it and add some sort of front exhaust. The lower front intake that blows on the hard drives needs to be left as an intake fan otherwise the hard drives will more than likely overheat and fail sooner than they should. You could probably mount a 120mm fan in the 5.25" bays blowing out the front if you don't have them full of drives or other items.

Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PapaSmurf is offline  
post #2247 of 6667 Old 06-15-2011, 03:04 PM
PC Gamer
 
Lindyrig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Grantsburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812718001&cm_re=PWM_Y_Cable-_-12-718-001-_-Product

Spendy but nice nylon braid on the cable.

PMW Y Cable for optimal airflow in Push/Pull setups.

Quote:
I like you! Because you let me be myself!
Lindyrig is offline  
post #2248 of 6667 Old 06-15-2011, 03:05 PM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu46;13879028 
i was thinking of moving my case's exhaust fan to push config. on my 212+ as the exhaust hole is in line and only few centimeters away from my 212

will it have drastic effect on overall case cooling??
Removing the case exhaust fan from its mount and placing it on your 212+ for a push/pull configuration will reduce your overall case airflow; doing this is a not a good idea (unless you reinforce your case airflow with other means as mentioned previously).

When moving from A to B, it is good to know that you are at A.
*AcidBath* is offline  
post #2249 of 6667 Old 06-15-2011, 03:13 PM
1.7ghz
 
krnb0iek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindyrig;13885136 
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812718001&cm_re=PWM_Y_Cable-_-12-718-001-_-Product

Spendy but nice nylon braid on the cable.

PMW Y Cable for optimal airflow in Push/Pull setups.

These are $2.99 here:

http://www.svc.com/fc444pwm-12bks.html
krnb0iek is offline  
post #2250 of 6667 Old 06-15-2011, 03:40 PM
Commodore 128D
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NE Wisconsin
Posts: 8,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 709
PapaSmurf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off