Can too much thermal paste = higher temps? - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 Old 05-10-2006, 03:09 PM
4.0ghz
 
xsabrewulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have to reseat mine

because mine is stock and in BIOS it says its 40 degrees


i just dont know how tight to put the bt, i dont want to break anything but it has to be tight enough to spread the AS5

xsabrewulf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 Old 05-10-2006, 03:11 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsabrewulf
I have to reseat mine

because mine is stock and in BIOS it says its 40 degrees


i just dont know how tight to put the bt, i dont want to break anything but it has to be tight enough to spread the AS5
Get it a bit past "Snug" tightness.

24/7 3.36 Overclock
3.43 GHz shot

92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy and paste this.
funkycasey is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 05-10-2006, 03:14 PM
4.0ghz
 
xsabrewulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
well its really hard to tell how tight it is.
i have a K8 board and it has the back bracket so i only need 2 screws. and its not easy to tell how tight it is.

xsabrewulf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 Old 05-10-2006, 03:39 PM
 
noxious89123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Midlands, England
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Tighten till your CPU cracks. then you know the limit. Then buy a new CPu and tighten down just before breaking point. Thats how i would do it.... if i was filthy rich..

noxious89123 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 05-10-2006, 03:50 PM
4.0ghz
 
jrabb1920's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 471
It would be better if you take the motherboard out to make sure its installed properly.

jrabb1920 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 05-10-2006, 05:09 PM
Now Available in Orange
 
Fishie36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 8,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by noxious89123
Tighten till your CPU cracks. then you know the limit. Then buy a new CPu and tighten down just before breaking point. Thats how i would do it.... if i was filthy rich..
Best advice I've seen all day

Fishie36 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 05-10-2006, 09:19 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sideburns
The cure time for AS5 is not a dramatic drop in temps. Everyone one here makes it sound like it's the be all and end all. If his temps are crap, no amount of "curing" will fix it.
ive gotten huge drops from letting the as5 cure for just a few days. one time i re-sat my heatsink, the temps were around 55C idle, within a few days it went down to about 45C idle. the huge drop may have partly been my fault though, while doing some re-arranging in my case, i remounted the heatsink and found that my previous mounting wasnt that great. most of the as5 was only to one side. ive got everything mounted fine right now though.

kofrad is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off