5x1 or 7x1 setup, Is it possible - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good afternoon all

My question is it possibly to hook up 5 or even 7 monitors in landscape 1920x1080 each or less...

Trying to recreate a 180 degree view of a cockpit in fsx for a flying school simulator and it seems money is no object... so your feedback would be fantastic!!

Kind regards

BRUTAL1TY

~P15000 3Dmark vantage

Crazy geezer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:13 AM
4.0ghz
 
Shane1244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 281
It sure is.

camera.gifCanon 60D | Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM | flickr
Technics SA-DX750 | Cerwin Vega LS10 x2 | Klipsch C20 | Klipsch B20 x2 | JBL Studio SUB150p
Shane1244 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of hardware will i require.. was gona wait for the X79 platform and go quad or even hex core, doubt it'l need something like EVGA SR2 kind of power,


Graphics card wise... what will i need?

BRUTAL1TY

~P15000 3Dmark vantage

Crazy geezer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:23 AM
Mile High Club
 
Mhill2029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Intel Fabrication Lab
Posts: 10,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 873
I'm not sure about such monitor setups, but i feel you'd need to go with eyefinity to make this work.

Mhill2029 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:27 AM
Smo
Overclocker
 
Smo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
6990x2? Would that do it?

My Build Log - [RV02-EW, ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600k, 2x MSI 7970s, Corsair AX1200 PSU]
My Car - [Nissan Pulsar GTi-R, 395bhp/411ft lbs, Fully Forged Tomei SR22DET 2.2 Stroker, GT3076R-EWG Turbo]

Smo is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:28 AM
4.0 GHz
 
ionstorm66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida Keys/Maui
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Your best bet is getting a 5870 Eyefinty 6 edition, and cross-firing it with some regular 5870 2GB's. You could also try a regular 5870/6970 and use some Matrox Triple Head 2 Go in Eyefintiy, though I can't find anyone actually doing that.

Remember that with Eyefinity you have to have all the screens hooked up to one card, most cards only have 3 or 4. Only the Eyefinity 6 5870's have 6, and there was a Powercool 5770 with 5. Nivdia only dose 3 screens max, and up to 2560x1600 per screen so no Triple Head 2 Go.

ionstorm66 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:29 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 2,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Send a message via Yahoo to kill Send a message via Skype™ to kill
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smo View Post
6990x2? Would that do it?
Mostlikely or a Tri-Fire 6970. either one will probrobly do it fine.
kill is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:29 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Two AMD GPUs would do the job for 5x1...for 7x1 I'd go for three GPUs.

What software is it? I know FSX is very CPU hungry.

Not knowing stuff is fine, but don't regurgitate stuff someone else has said and pretend you understand it.
fluxlite is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:29 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Send a message via AIM to 3XPeriment
My friend's dad is a pilot, and actually has that exact same setup for the exact same purpose. He's got 5 monitors all set up in a row (all in portrait mode). I believe they are 1080x1920. For him, a 6990 eyefinity works perfectly at max settings w/ no lag.

EDIT: He's using a 2600K at stock settings.

ESSENTIAL READING: Professionalism, Courtesy
3XPeriment is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:30 AM
Mile High Club
 
Mhill2029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Intel Fabrication Lab
Posts: 10,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy geezer View Post
Good afternoon all

My question is it possibly to hook up 5 or even 7 monitors in landscape 1920x1080 each or less...

Trying to recreate a 180 degree view of a cockpit in fsx for a flying school simulator and it seems money is no object... so your feedback would be fantastic!!

Kind regards
This could be worth a look:-


Mhill2029 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off