triple 6870's question. - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 25 Old 11-29-2011, 10:28 AM
4.0ghz
 
Don Karnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Your processor will bottleneck them
Don Karnage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 25 Old 11-29-2011, 10:48 AM
4.0ghz
 
JunkoXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by 11alliance11 View Post

Thanks for sustaining, the 6970 is a very decent card especially you can get a deal on it for 150$... that's ~340$ for 2 of em... Anyways back on topic... So basically I probably won't need more than 2 slots if i'm gonna go for a 6870 and a 6870x2 right?
I was thinking about this board then : http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=10530BD2677, yeah, i'm tight on budget. Can't see where it says 4+1 phase or 8+1...
If anyone feels like getting me a board, i'll pay up to 130 inc shipping... I'm in canada so you'll have to look on newegg.ca, ncix.com, directcanada.com, tigerdirect.ca, etc.... thanks a lot for all the support.

well theres alot of potential in the 6870 tri-fire and im lookin at it myself for a future purchas. no more then 2 slots, a 16x for the top and the 8x on the bottom cause the x2 will actually split up the 16x bus making each gpu run at 8x/8x and when you use tri-fire it'll be 8x/8x/8x simliar to a 6990+6970 combo smile.gif. the motherboard your showing has a 4x PCI-E 2.0 it'll only slow performance by a very small margain when doing 8x/8x/4x but not to bad. but it appears to be a 4+2 Power phase.... not good for running high end CPU's 125w or more and quad core and more

JunkoXan is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 11-29-2011, 04:34 PM
 
Dmac73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by PureBlackFire View Post

lol @ this thread.. a 700w psu will do it for a 6870X2 + 6870. And yea BD has a poor showing with multiple gpu's. even gtx460 sli/6850 cf don't get maximum usage with BD.


In a reasonable situation sure, but i wouldn't DARE run TriFire with an overclocked FX on a 700w.... Now if he keeps his cpu within TDP, sure. But if he wants to actually push his GPUs(and even 5ghz on FX won't come close); no way.
Dmac73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 25 Old 11-30-2011, 01:18 AM
4.0ghz
 
JunkoXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmac73 View Post

In a reasonable situation sure, but i wouldn't DARE run TriFire with an overclocked FX on a 700w.... Now if he keeps his cpu within TDP, sure. But if he wants to actually push his GPUs(and even 5ghz on FX won't come close); no way.

on top of that 700w is under the absolute minimum anyways 750w is absolute minimum, OC'd Tri-Fire 6870 could hit nearly 600 watts TSPD at maximum oc 700watts in extreme cases if he overclocks the BD slightly over the TPD. sooo all in all yea 700watt PS no way ^-^ thumb.gif

JunkoXan is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 12-02-2011, 09:06 PM
I want to analyze your chassis
 
PureBlackFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 429
ok..

PureBlackFire is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off