X1950 Crossfire advice needed - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 23 Old 10-01-2006, 09:06 PM
3.0ghz
 
CowBlazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The problem is with either the chipset drivers or the ATI drivers, but Crossfire on the Intel chipset vs Crossfire on even the Xpress200 chipset, is slower in certain games. I'm talking GPU performance only.

CowBlazed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 Old 10-01-2006, 09:08 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172


Where did yuo get that from?
As far I've seen, the best benchies are with Crossfire on the Intel Chipset.
Chozart is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 10-01-2006, 09:11 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
How did you run SLI on your Asus board??
kingwilliam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 23 Old 10-01-2006, 09:13 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
There are modded drivers out there that will enable you to run SLI on basically any board that has dual PCI-E x16 slots. sdumper is doing it also on a P5W DH Deluxe
Chozart is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 10-01-2006, 09:16 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Wow, I now I think I want to blow some money on a second card.....but I think I am just gonna wait for DX10 hardware....to be honest, I am playing all my games on high anyway...... arrrgg....damn upgrade fever trying to come out of remission
kingwilliam is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 10-01-2006, 09:18 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
With your 19" monitor, no reason to go SLI or Crossfire. Think about it when you get a monitor with at least a resolution of 1600x1200 or the widescreen equivalent.
Chozart is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 10-02-2006, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Tablet Guru
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 674
Thanks for the feedback guys. To the above points:

Chozart, the links are provided will not create a crossfire system? That was the primary reason for this post as I have been Nvidia so long that I was uncertain as to what to buy but given my budget, I figured X1950 would be the way to go.

As to the price of the cards, they are selling for $530 + tax in canada ($600 each). Both of my cards are less than 3 months old, so my cousin (who is buying both) is saving $200. With $1000, I can easily afford the X1950 series but I have to ensure I buy the right combination of cards.

SLI works fine with the modded 84.56 drivers, however I am a bit concerned as I am basically at the mercy of modders creating newer drivers whereas with an ATI setup, all is good.

I also have a 19" monitor but once I get the video cards switched I'm going monitor shopping (my NEC has been great but I've had it for over 3 years). I'm either going to get a 22" NEC-Mitsubishi CRT (hard to find but fantastic picture) or a 24" or larger LCD. I'm leaning towards the CRT as I have a huge desk area and am more concerned about picture quality than ergonomics (and the CRT is cheaper!).

Chozart, can you advise what I will need in matching cards? Links to US products is fine as I can match them up with the distributors I deal with here.

Thanks

Robilar is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 10-02-2006, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
Tablet Guru
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 674
http://www.infonec.com/site/main.php...tail&id=187313

ATI Original Radeon X1950 CrossFire 512MB RETAIL

http://www.bigfootcomputers.com/Merc...ory_Code=950.1

ATI Original Radeon X1950 CrossFire PCI-E 512MB Retail Video Card

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...anufacture=ATI

ATI Radeon X1950 Crossfire Edition 650MHZ 512MB


So these definitely won't work?

Robilar is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 10-02-2006, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Tablet Guru
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 674
Also, there is an Asus card one of my distributors has,

ASUS EAX1950CROSSFIRE

EAX1950CF/HP/512M

Asus Radeon X1950XTX PCI-E 512MB

"ASUS EAX1950CROSSFIRE is equipped with exclusive ASUS innovations and ATI RADEON X1950XTX GPU. Through ATI unique CrossFire technology, the ASUS EAX1950CROSSFIRE unites multiple graphics processing units (GPUs) working together to propel your PC to a new pinnacle of performance. In addition, the ASUS EAX1950CROSSFIRE is HDCP ready"


Also a powercolor

PowerColor ATI Radeon X1950 CrossFire PCI-E 512MB GDDR4 DVI VHDCI HDTV Retail UPC: N/A X1950CF512MB

Also from the distributor

ATI-Sapphire Original Radeon X1950 PCI-E 512MB GDDR4 Dual DVI TV OUT CrossFire Retail

"The Radeon X1950 CrossFire Edition is essentially the same thing as the X1950 XTX, save for the fact that it adds a special compositing engine for use with multi-GPU setups. ATI hasnt yet incorporated this image compositing engine into the GPU, so a CrossFire Edition card is still required. This time around, though, the CrossFire card runs at the same clock speeds as the XTX. "


connect3D Radeon× X1950 CrossFire 512MB GDDR4 DVI-I CrossFire VIVO

Robilar is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 10-02-2006, 09:16 AM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robilar
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...anufacture=ATI

ATI Radeon X1950 Crossfire Edition 650MHZ 512MB



So these definitely won't work?
You need this one, together with one of the others. Look at the image, and see the different connector. This is the Crossfire Edition card, which will be your Master card, while one of the others will be your slave. (does not need to be same brand)
Chozart is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off