HIS 6950 2GB Unlocking - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-13-2012, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
Thingamajig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Hi all.

I've just purchased this exact card:

And i've heard that it's possible to unlock this model to 6970 spec.


Is this doable on this HIS card? if so, how? what is the safest route to do this?

Any infomation you guys can give me in regards to this would be hugely appreciated.

Stay outta my shed
Thingamajig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-13-2012, 06:24 PM
333mhz
 
dm22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The safest way is to Flash a modded 6950 bios, if it's not a reference card.
NEVER flash a 6970 bios, because the memory voltage and timing MIGHT be different.

dm22 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-13-2012, 06:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
I know nothing of the unlock rate on this particular model.

Best bet would be to save a copy of the BIOS, unlock it with RBE, and flash it with ATIFLASH. If it doesn't take, flash it back.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 03-13-2012, 06:30 PM
Overclocker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I was going to go the HIS route as it was cheaper but decided on the tfIII....which did unlock. tbh if you don't have the bios fan profile switch, don't try or you're aiming for a brick redface.gif

Originally Posted by Puck

Apparently it takes 100-something chickens to the face to kill a Communist North Korean.
Spacedinvader is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-13-2012, 06:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
Most cards can be flashed blind, or with the aid of a second card, even if you throughly rape the BIOS. I've erased BIOSes, flashed ones that weren't even remotely designed for the same type of card, and had power failures mid-flash...always been able to make the cards work again.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-14-2012, 09:39 PM
 
hydothe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
the safest way is to check whether there is an onboard switch, like the dirt3 cards
hydothe is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-14-2012, 10:16 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
xxslay3rxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So the question is, why are people trying to flash these cards that have bios switches? I always thought that if u flipped it started windows and you still had 1408 cores then that means it couldnt unlock?

sniper.gif===+++++==xx§layerxx===+++++==gunner.gif
xxslay3rxx is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-16-2012, 05:13 PM
Overclocker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
It acts as a fan profile (on the tfIII). You can replace that bios with the 6970 one to try to unlock the shaders, while still having the original bios in switch position 1 allowing you to switch back if it doesn't work.

Originally Posted by Puck

Apparently it takes 100-something chickens to the face to kill a Communist North Korean.
Spacedinvader is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off