Overclocking Sapphire 5850 - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 20 Old 11-27-2012, 09:58 PM
Extreme Cooler
 
Drewmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The link is in post #5 but I'll upload it anyways. Good Luck!
SAPPHIRE_TriXX.zip 3364k .zip file

Drewmeister is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 Old 11-29-2012, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
 
Chudus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got "encountered improper argument" in this version and able to change clocks and voltage form 0 to 100. Is there a cfg file or sth?
Chudus is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 11-29-2012, 04:57 PM
Extreme Cooler
 
Drewmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
You might need to run as administrator.. right click shortcut- properties-compatibility- Under Privilege Level check run this program as an administrator -apply.

Drewmeister is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 20 Old 11-30-2012, 03:38 AM - Thread Starter
 
Chudus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Already did smile.gif still the same frown.gif
Chudus is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 12-06-2012, 12:34 AM
Extreme Cooler
 
Drewmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm pretty sure you just have one of those non-reference cards that won't respond to soft mods. You'll need to hard mod it.. the easiest being the pencil mod. This isn't your card but just showing how easy it is to do. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtUoLUe_h3Q

Drewmeister is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 12-06-2012, 07:28 AM
 
hyder711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i am having similar problem like op. My card is a non reference xfx hd 5850 part no. 585X-ZAFA. I have tried trixx but getting improper argument error.
I managed to oc using msi afterburner unofficial mod but only can get 810 MHz core and still locked voltage. I didn't attempt any bios flash and I don't want to as i heard the xfx card don't have any voltage controller supporting voltage regulation by software so bios unlocking will not help.(i think and understand from other forums. so correct me if i am wrong)
So i will be grateful if op or Drewmeister kindly help me.
My old pc specs.
cpu- dual core E 5700 @ 3.6 GHz
4 GB DDR3 ram
mobo- asus P5P43TD PRO
psu -thermaltake smart modular 550 watt
win 7 64 bit


The youtube video shows pencil mod with a sapphire 5870. is it same for xfx 5850 ?

Thanks.
hyder711 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 12-06-2012, 10:17 PM
Extreme Cooler
 
Drewmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hello there hyder711,

My non-ref XFX HD 5850 ZAFC v1.3 unlocked "only" with Trixx v0.4.21. I should add that the operating systems I've used it on are XP and Vista 64. If both you guys are using W7 then maybe try running Trixx in XP(sp2) compatibility mode.

I'm not sure the mod for 5870 in the video would be the same for your 5850. First things first.. lmk which voltage regulator you have? Usually NCP5395T or uP6213 on non-ref cards. I'm guessing NCP5395T as that's what I have on my XFX.. Chudos probably has uP6213 on Sapphire blue pcb. To speed things up get the resistance from FB to ground with card out of pc.

Welcome to OCN!

Drewmeister is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 12-07-2012, 01:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrPerforations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Milton Keynes,England
Posts: 1,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 78
hello,
i'm in the same boat, I flashed my bios, but failed to keep the original bios, I used another xfx bios and its running fine, but I would like to get some more out of it before the 8xxx comes out next year, just read about the leaked specs and might be a card to replace the 58xx. anyway, I have a pre overclocked xfx 5850, the one with the big fan and open pcb, at the moment I have it down in gpu-z as a 113-585xznb-10, can this be overclocked and voltage changed please?
I did try this earlier this year but gave up as bricking it or damaging it would be bad news.
MrPerforations is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 12-07-2012, 10:23 AM
 
hyder711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewmeister View Post

Hello there hyder711,
My non-ref XFX HD 5850 ZAFC v1.3 unlocked "only" with Trixx v0.4.21. I should add that the operating systems I've used it on are XP and Vista 64. If both you guys are using W7 then maybe try running Trixx in XP(sp2) compatibility mode.
I'm not sure the mod for 5870 in the video would be the same for your 5850. First things first.. lmk which voltage regulator you have? Usually NCP5395T or uP6213 on non-ref cards. I'm guessing NCP5395T as that's what I have on my XFX.. Chudos probably has uP6213 on Sapphire blue pcb. To speed things up get the resistance from FB to ground with card out of pc.
Welcome to OCN!

Thanks for the reply and my card version is 3.1.
The thing is I am not that good with circuit so could you please tell me which chip should i look for and their probable location on the pcb.

Thanks again.
hyder711 is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 12-10-2012, 11:48 PM
Extreme Cooler
 
Drewmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The voltage regulator is normally on the back of the non-ref cards. I included a pic outlining it's location. Get the part number and a quality macro pic of the area and we'll go from there. You'll be needing a digital multimeter... you can pick one up for like $10 at Radio Shack and some Hardware Stores.

MrPerforations: Just try the different versions of Trixx mentioned here. If that doesn't work then you could try modding your bios via RBE. Last resort would be hard modding.. the easiest being the pencil mod.


Drewmeister is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off