Which 7950 do I get? - Page 4 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 53 Old 03-16-2013, 01:57 AM
WaterCooler
 
mr. biggums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 3,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOCOM_HERO View Post

No, I do not on the MSI card. I can only speak for the Sapphire model. However, if the MSI card does indeed come with boost (925mhz), it is pretty much the same in terms of clock speed to my card.

At +15% I was able to achieve 1.100v 1100core 1350mem. However, there was some fluctuation of clock speeds, so 20% will eliminate this completely if you notice differences in game. I have noticed major differences of benchmark scores due to throttling, but not as much in game.

testing now for stability at 1.1v 1100core and 1400mem.<<

I am certain I can go further, perhaps to 1.2GHz core and 1450 Mem at over 1.100 volts, but for now I am happy and see no reason to take things further unless I just feel like getting higher bench scores or gaining 2 fps in Crysis 3, all other games I currently play don't even pose a challenge to this GPU at stock clocks.

I am sure that the MSI card has better cooling than the Sapphire model, but I am not sure about clock speed or VRM temps, they could be better or the same. I have heard that is a great card on all fronts.

The tf3 boost's are still running 7970 pcb's and have a stock voltage of 1.25V, vrm temps do get into the 80's when running 1100+ core at least mine does (usually leave it at 1000/1500 for general gaming). They have been pretty consistent for me though so it appears that their not throttling (multiple valley and 3dmark run's).
mr. biggums is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 53 Old 03-16-2013, 09:58 AM
 
INCREDIBLEHULK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. biggums View Post

The tf3 boost's are still running 7970 pcb's and have a stock voltage of 1.25V, vrm temps do get into the 80's when running 1100+ core at least mine does (usually leave it at 1000/1500 for general gaming). They have been pretty consistent for me though so it appears that their not throttling (multiple valley and 3dmark run's).

I thought all the new tf3's were 7950 pcb's?
Is there an easy way to check VRM? GPU-z reads to me a vrm temp 1 and 2 that is too low to believe when under load smile.gif
INCREDIBLEHULK is offline  
post #33 of 53 Old 03-16-2013, 10:59 AM
WaterCooler
 
RavageTheEarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by INCREDIBLEHULK View Post

I thought all the new tf3's were 7950 pcb's?
Is there an easy way to check VRM? GPU-z reads to me a vrm temp 1 and 2 that is too low to believe when under load smile.gif

Yea like 95% of all the TFIII's now are 7950 pcb, not 7970 pcb. I took the gamble and lost and I still hear people all bummed out because they didn't get the 7970 pcb. Very few people are lucky enough to still recieve them. All of them TFIII's are running 1.25v though, that is where he is correct. I personally use HWinfo64 to monitor my VRM temps. I have my TFIII for my top card and a Sapphire Dual-x 7950 as my bottom card and they are at 1165/1625 right now. I replaced both of the TIM on both card to Liquid Ultra so they now run cooler. Idle at 22c/18c and under load they get to 58c/55c. VRM temps on the top card get to 70c after hours of Crysis 3. VRM temps on the bottom card get to around 65c. They both were around 78c before replacing the TIM. Now both cards run a lot cooler so in turn, the VRM's run cooler. thumb.gif I would definetly recommend people to replace the TIM on their cards to CLU. Just be careful because it is conductive. All you need is a very thin layer. Love that stuff! Have it on my 3770k die and heatsink and on both of my cards. I'm about to start putting it on my sandwiches soon! Its so good! oneeyedsmiley02.png

blinksmiley.gif Actually, no. I shouldn't do that..

Hardware
Gigabyte G1 Gaming 7 Z170 Motherboard - Intel i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz (1.38v) - G.Skill Trident Z 3400Mhz DDR4 - Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti @1.093v 2126/12.2Ghz - Dual Samsung 500Gb SSD's - Evga G2 1300w PSU - Phanteks Enthoo Primo

Cooling
Dual MCP655's - Ek X-Top 150 Reservoir/Pump Top -EK D5 Pump Top - Alphacool XT45 420mm Radiator - Alphacool Monsta 360mm radiator - Alphacool UT30 240mm radiator - Monsoon Fittings - EK Gigabyte G1 Gaming 7 Monoblock - EK-FC1080 GTX Ti Aorus - Acetal+Nickel - EK-FC1080 GTX Ti Aorus Backplate - Black
RavageTheEarth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 53 Old 03-16-2013, 11:08 AM
Commodore 64
 
youpekkad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Yea the 7970 pcb is nice n all, but really even the 7950 pcb-cards can be great overclockers so not a big deal.

I got one with a 7970 pcb and its a good card and clocks well after reapplying the TIM (much recommended...) but I dont quite get all this fuss about it, 7950 pcb-card can be just as good, if not better. Its a luck of draw...

youpekkad is offline  
post #35 of 53 Old 03-16-2013, 11:08 AM
 
DDTT5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131478

1200/1575 clocks on air

269.99 at newegg!

DDTT5 is offline  
post #36 of 53 Old 03-16-2013, 01:04 PM
 
SOCOM_HERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Wow do I feel ripped off buying the Sapphire 2L now since it is $30 less this week...I want my money back! jk...its worth the price either way $30 isn't enough to sway me from one 7950 to the next. Hindsight 20/20 on that buy.

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

SOCOM_HERO is offline  
post #37 of 53 Old 03-16-2013, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
banging34hzs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Pulled the trigger on the 2L model about an hour ago.
banging34hzs is offline  
post #38 of 53 Old 03-16-2013, 01:24 PM
WaterCooler
 
RavageTheEarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by youpekkad View Post

Yea the 7970 pcb is nice n all, but really even the 7950 pcb-cards can be great overclockers so not a big deal.

I got one with a 7970 pcb and its a good card and clocks well after reapplying the TIM (much recommended...) but I dont quite get all this fuss about it, 7950 pcb-card can be just as good, if not better. Its a luck of draw...

The fuss is about a reference pcb so you can add some water blocks on it and water cool. Thats really it. I was able to get to 1225/1625 on my non-reference 6 + 6 pin MSI TFIII 7950 so I don't really believe that the 7970 pcb's overclock better unless you water cool. thats why I was hoping for a 7970 pcb when I ordered mine, but I'm very happy with my MSI TFIII and my Sapphire 2L in crossfire. 1165/1600 at stock voltage. Still like my TFIII better, but they do both look awesome together in crossfire.


Hardware
Gigabyte G1 Gaming 7 Z170 Motherboard - Intel i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz (1.38v) - G.Skill Trident Z 3400Mhz DDR4 - Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti @1.093v 2126/12.2Ghz - Dual Samsung 500Gb SSD's - Evga G2 1300w PSU - Phanteks Enthoo Primo

Cooling
Dual MCP655's - Ek X-Top 150 Reservoir/Pump Top -EK D5 Pump Top - Alphacool XT45 420mm Radiator - Alphacool Monsta 360mm radiator - Alphacool UT30 240mm radiator - Monsoon Fittings - EK Gigabyte G1 Gaming 7 Monoblock - EK-FC1080 GTX Ti Aorus - Acetal+Nickel - EK-FC1080 GTX Ti Aorus Backplate - Black
RavageTheEarth is offline  
post #39 of 53 Old 03-17-2013, 08:49 AM
 
Shmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I recently bought the 3L from the egg when it was cheaper than the 2L. So far it has been OCing quite nicely, currently at 1140/1300 with 1.25 V on GPU, not sure of memory voltage. I think I can go farther, but the version of trixx I got (was recommended to get the modded one from here) does not have an option to adjust memory voltage. Any help there?

With that aside, it is a really nice card. Now that the 2L is cheaper again, I would go with that though.
Shmee is offline  
post #40 of 53 Old 03-17-2013, 10:26 PM
 
SOCOM_HERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You should be able to adjust memory voltage through afterburner. There should be a small drop down arrow to the right of the core clock/memory clock that will display memory voltage. By default on the 2L it is set to 1600.

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

SOCOM_HERO is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off