Just Switched Teams to an ATI Card - SO disappointed - ATI guys I need HELP! - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 12:20 PM
They've Killed Fritz!!!
 
Mr Pink57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: a van down by the river
Posts: 4,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Send a message via MSN to Mr Pink57
1) Download Warcat 6.12, Driver Cleaner Pro, ATi Tray Tools
2) Install Driver Cleaner Pro
3) Uninstall all Ati drivers
4) Go into safe mode and use driver cleaner pro to remove registry crap
5) Install the Warcats, use the custom install and uncheck Catalyst Control Center but make sure to click the driver.
6) Install ATi Tray Tools
7) Restart

Now try and OC and see what happens, make sure you are on lower level for OC'ing not driver level. There are some tweaks to do with ATi Tray Tools but if you have questions on those just ask.

And dont use ATiTools just ATi Tray Tools there is a difference I have linked you to everything you need.

pink
IamtheGTIguy likes this.

Vicki Vale: You're insane!
Joker: I thought I was a Pisces!
Mr Pink57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 12:52 PM
Angry Linux Gamer
 
Melcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Merida
Posts: 7,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 632
If you follow the little tweak from Fishie36 I posted the CCC will be less of a problem. My old second rig with a 9800 is starved of resources and that little tweak worked wonders (memory usage went down by more than half).
Melcar is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
IamtheGTIguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manhattan, New York
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Pink57 View Post
1) Download Warcat 6.12, Driver Cleaner Pro, ATi Tray Tools
2) Install Driver Cleaner Pro
3) Uninstall all Ati drivers
4) Go into safe mode and use driver cleaner pro to remove registry crap
5) Install the Warcats, use the custom install and uncheck Catalyst Control Center but make sure to click the driver.
6) Install ATi Tray Tools
7) Restart

Now try and OC and see what happens, make sure you are on lower level for OC'ing not driver level. There are some tweaks to do with ATi Tray Tools but if you have questions on those just ask.

And dont use ATiTools just ATi Tray Tools there is a difference I have linked you to everything you need.

pink
Thanks man! I really appreciate it!

IamtheGTIguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 01:05 PM
4.0 GHz
 
Waupli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Danville, KY
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I'm having trouble with the drivers on my X1950Pro also. My problem isn't resolution but some driver conflict. Are the warcat drivers the best? I can't even get into windows right now so I'm going to format the windows partition and reinstall windows.

If your comptuer goes slowly when you have all that opening at startup uncheck boot at startup in ati tools (in options or something) and do as the others said and tell windows not to start the other stuff. Good luck.

Playing: Dragon Age 2

Waupli is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
IamtheGTIguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manhattan, New York
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melcar View Post
If you follow the little tweak from Fishie36 I posted the CCC will be less of a problem. My old second rig with a 9800 is starved of resources and that little tweak worked wonders (memory usage went down by more than half).

I appreciate your post - but I think I'm willing to try one more 3rd party driver (Warcat 6.12).

If that doesn't cut it, then I'll go back to Catalyst and use your tweak!

IamtheGTIguy is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 01:15 PM
They've Killed Fritz!!!
 
Mr Pink57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: a van down by the river
Posts: 4,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Send a message via MSN to Mr Pink57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waupli View Post
I'm having trouble with the drivers on my X1950Pro also. My problem isn't resolution but some driver conflict. Are the warcat drivers the best? I can't even get into windows right now so I'm going to format the windows partition and reinstall windows.

If your comptuer goes slowly when you have all that opening at startup uncheck boot at startup in ati tools (in options or something) and do as the others said and tell windows not to start the other stuff. Good luck.
I would say yes they are at this time. Very stable and image quality is very nice with EATM and AlphaSharpening on. Use Driver Cleaner Pro to get rid of the registry crap of the drivers and try again.

pink
Waupli likes this.

Vicki Vale: You're insane!
Joker: I thought I was a Pisces!
Mr Pink57 is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
IamtheGTIguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manhattan, New York
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Pink57 View Post
I would say yes they are at this time. Very stable and image quality is very nice with EATM and AlphaSharpening on. Use Driver Cleaner Pro to get rid of the registry crap of the drivers and try again.

pink

one last question Pink -

(btw, I gave you a rep ) I see you too have the Powercolor X1950Pro.

Have you been able to O/C yours at all?

IamtheGTIguy is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 01:18 PM
4.0 GHz
 
Waupli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Danville, KY
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Pink57 View Post
I would say yes they are at this time. Very stable and image quality is very nice with EATM and AlphaSharpening on. Use Driver Cleaner Pro to get rid of the registry crap of the drivers and try again.

pink
Formatting the drive will get rid of that stuff right? I had omega drivers for a long time, but I'll try those and see what happens.

Playing: Dragon Age 2

Waupli is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 01:21 PM
Angry Linux Gamer
 
Melcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Merida
Posts: 7,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waupli View Post
Formatting the drive will get rid of that stuff right? I had omega drivers for a long time, but I'll try those and see what happens.

Have you tried booting up in Safe Mode and uninstalling the drivers that way?
Melcar is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 12-27-2006, 01:36 PM
They've Killed Fritz!!!
 
Mr Pink57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: a van down by the river
Posts: 4,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Send a message via MSN to Mr Pink57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waupli View Post
Formatting the drive will get rid of that stuff right? I had omega drivers for a long time, but I'll try those and see what happens.
It will but a bit extreme its a lot simpler to just do it my way then a whole reformat.

pink

Vicki Vale: You're insane!
Joker: I thought I was a Pisces!
Mr Pink57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off