Buying a used 7970, what to look for? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-10-2013, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
patriotaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I will upgrade my mobo/ram/cpu within the next few days and I'm also looking forward to buying a used 7970 from ebay. What are your thoughts? What should I notice and be careful with?

Thanks
patriotaki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-10-2013, 04:26 PM
Amiga 500
 
bombastinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 186
I just bought a 7950 on ebay. It seemed to work well. I sent my money off and have yet to hear anything, which makes me concerned. I am curious what others have to say here.

bombastinator is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-10-2013, 04:28 PM
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 17,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 844
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 10-10-2013, 10:19 PM - Thread Starter
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
patriotaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Is your card still working right?

Is anyone here selling his 7970 maybe?
patriotaki is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 10-10-2013, 10:23 PM
sudo rm -rf /*
 
DizZz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 6,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by patriotaki View Post

Is your card still working right?

Is anyone here selling his 7970 maybe?

Check in the Marketplace!

http://www.overclock.net/t/1417038/2-reference-amd-radeon-hd-7970s-diamond-visiontek-ghz-edition-bios/

http://www.overclock.net/t/1430929/sapphire-and-xfx-7970s-fresh-from-rma/

100 Million Folding Points 

DizZz is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-10-2013, 10:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
th3illusiveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 158
try to get a reference card, they overclock the best.

th3illusiveman is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 10-11-2013, 12:06 PM
Amiga 500
 
bombastinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 186
The ghz edition should be faster than the OC edition, and I heard a rumor that they are releasing an update firmware for the ghz edition to turn them into 280xes.

bombastinator is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 10-11-2013, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
patriotaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bombastinator View Post

The ghz edition should be faster than the OC edition, and I heard a rumor that they are releasing an update firmware for the ghz edition to turn them into 280xes.
hmm thanks for the info but what about the ebay seller should i trust?
patriotaki is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off