[Official] AMD R9 Radeon FURY / NANO / X / Pro DUO FIJI Owners Club - Page 485 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4841 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 08:29 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
battleaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by xer0h0ur View Post

Actually people routinely went past 100mV on the 2XX series but I don't believe that was with Afterburner. I know that I can run more than 100mV on my 290X but my 295X2 won't give me that option (within Afterburner).

You can use some code to go up to 300mv on AB.

Trixx allows up to 200mv by default.
battleaxe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4842 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 08:35 AM
 
xer0h0ur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by battleaxe View Post

You can use some code to go up to 300mv on AB.

Trixx allows up to 200mv by default.

*gets quarter chub*

May you point me in the direction of this code? I wouldn't mind giving it another go at how much more I can push my cards with more voltage. +100mV on the 295X2 and +150mV on the 290X got me decent overclocks but I am curious how much more I can push it then.

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX | Intel Core i7 4960X @ 4.5 GHz | 16GB 4x4 2133MHz EVGA quad channel kit | Gigabyte FE GTX 1080 w/ Nickel EKWB | OCZ ZX1250W PSU | 1TB Samsung 850 Pro + 256GB Micron M550 SSDs | 1TB WD VelociRaptor | EK-DBAY pump/res | 360mm Alphacool NexXxos Monsta rad | x64 Windows 7 Ultimate | Samsung U28D590D 4K @ 60Hz | BenQ XL2730Z 1440p @ 144Hz
xer0h0ur is offline  
post #4843 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 09:11 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
battleaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by xer0h0ur View Post

*gets quarter chub*

May you point me in the direction of this code? I wouldn't mind giving it another go at how much more I can push my cards with more voltage. +100mV on the 295X2 and +150mV on the 290X got me decent overclocks but I am curious how much more I can push it then.

Its part of the OP on the 290/x thread.

How to give more volts on MSI Afterburner by OCN member sugarhell typer.gif

ADD more volts to MSI AB Guide
Source

Just use /wi4,30,8d,10 for 100mv. The offset is 6.25 mv in hexademical. So on decimal is :16*6.25=100 mv. For 50mv you need 8. For 200mv you need 20( 20=32 on dec. So 32 * 6.25=200mv)

The easy way to do changes:

Create a txt on desktop. Write
CD C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner
MSIAfterburner.exe /wi4,30,8d,10

and then save as .bat file. Eveyrtime you start this bat file msi will start with +100mv

For 50mv: 8
For 100mv:10
For 125mv:14
For 150mv:18
For 175mv:1C
For 200mv:20

I wouldn't go over this point because
1)You are close to leave the sweet spot of the ref pcb vrms efficiency
2)These commands add 200mv on top of the 100mv offset through AB gui.That means 300mv

By default /wi command apply to current gpu only. So if you have 2 or more gpus you must use /sg command. That means the command line is something like that
ex:MsiAfterburner.exe /sg0 /wi6,30,8d,10 /sg1 /wi6,30,8d,10
xer0h0ur likes this.
battleaxe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4844 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 09:29 AM
Extreme Cooler
 
buildzoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
For the reference 290X PCB there was also the PT1 and PT3 BIOSs from Shamino that went up to 2V using a modified GPUTweak.

HBM doesn't seem to scale with voltage at all. Going from 1.2V core to 1.3V core on my did nothing for HBM. Giving HBM 25mv extra also did absolutely nothing.

Keep Calm and Raise Vcore

3960X 4.8Ghz 1.45V | 4x4GB RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34-2T | Rampage IV Extreme | R9 Fury Tri-X 1145/570 1.3V core | Cooler Master V1000
buildzoid is offline  
post #4845 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 09:45 AM
 
xer0h0ur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by battleaxe View Post

Its part of the OP on the 290/x thread.

How to give more volts on MSI Afterburner by OCN member sugarhell typer.gif

ADD more volts to MSI AB Guide
Source

Just use /wi4,30,8d,10 for 100mv. The offset is 6.25 mv in hexademical. So on decimal is :16*6.25=100 mv. For 50mv you need 8. For 200mv you need 20( 20=32 on dec. So 32 * 6.25=200mv)

The easy way to do changes:

Create a txt on desktop. Write
CD C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner
MSIAfterburner.exe /wi4,30,8d,10

and then save as .bat file. Eveyrtime you start this bat file msi will start with +100mv

For 50mv: 8
For 100mv:10
For 125mv:14
For 150mv:18
For 175mv:1C
For 200mv:20

I wouldn't go over this point because
1)You are close to leave the sweet spot of the ref pcb vrms efficiency
2)These commands add 200mv on top of the 100mv offset through AB gui.That means 300mv

By default /wi command apply to current gpu only. So if you have 2 or more gpus you must use /sg command. That means the command line is something like that
ex:MsiAfterburner.exe /sg0 /wi6,30,8d,10 /sg1 /wi6,30,8d,10

+rep, upboated. Kappa.

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX | Intel Core i7 4960X @ 4.5 GHz | 16GB 4x4 2133MHz EVGA quad channel kit | Gigabyte FE GTX 1080 w/ Nickel EKWB | OCZ ZX1250W PSU | 1TB Samsung 850 Pro + 256GB Micron M550 SSDs | 1TB WD VelociRaptor | EK-DBAY pump/res | 360mm Alphacool NexXxos Monsta rad | x64 Windows 7 Ultimate | Samsung U28D590D 4K @ 60Hz | BenQ XL2730Z 1440p @ 144Hz
xer0h0ur is offline  
post #4846 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 09:50 AM
 
xer0h0ur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by buildzoid View Post

For the reference 290X PCB there was also the PT1 and PT3 BIOSs from Shamino that went up to 2V using a modified GPUTweak.

HBM doesn't seem to scale with voltage at all. Going from 1.2V core to 1.3V core on my did nothing for HBM. Giving HBM 25mv extra also did absolutely nothing.

People have noted though that keeping the HBM cool enough allowed them to push higher clocks on it. I still do agree though with the opinion that overclocking HBM isn't exactly providing a noticeable enough result though to make it worth going to that extreme though.

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX | Intel Core i7 4960X @ 4.5 GHz | 16GB 4x4 2133MHz EVGA quad channel kit | Gigabyte FE GTX 1080 w/ Nickel EKWB | OCZ ZX1250W PSU | 1TB Samsung 850 Pro + 256GB Micron M550 SSDs | 1TB WD VelociRaptor | EK-DBAY pump/res | 360mm Alphacool NexXxos Monsta rad | x64 Windows 7 Ultimate | Samsung U28D590D 4K @ 60Hz | BenQ XL2730Z 1440p @ 144Hz
xer0h0ur is offline  
post #4847 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 11:42 AM
please keep drinking the koolaide
 
Mega Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO USA
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by buildzoid View Post

For the reference 290X PCB there was also the PT1 and PT3 BIOSs from Shamino that went up to 2V using a modified GPUTweak.

HBM doesn't seem to scale with voltage at all. Going from 1.2V core to 1.3V core on my did nothing for HBM. Giving HBM 25mv extra also did absolutely nothing.


he is correct

Rigbuilder and how to put it in your sig post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif budget components = budget resultsPearls before swine! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

Also rma wise, regardless of what vendor used it's always like getting a tooth pulled imo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by szeged go_quote.gif

I facepalmed when trying to explain cpu and gpu overclocking to him after he got his 4930k. It was like teaching trigonometry to a rock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

That's like wrapping your car around a pole then asking for warranty service.
Dont be hard on yourself, we all break stuff sooner or later.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif

I don't appreciate your judgment here. I am just stating facts. That's all I'm doing. If you are taking offense to it or something, then that's not my problem, so don't put it on me. Ok?...Good god man. You would know that if you would actually carefully read...
Mega Man is offline  
post #4848 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 01:06 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Ran a couple 5k quad furyx benchmarks, i want to do scaling for fiji testing but i have to rebuild my eyefinity every time i drop a gpu from crossfire(probably some sort of bug). So it gets to be a pain in the butt.

5k 5120x2880 - avg 60.6fps
Valley ultra/4xAA Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
5k 5120x2880 - avg 42.fps
Heaven 4.0 ultra/tess:extreme 4xAA Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

5k 5120x2880 - avg 60fps
Tomb Raider ultimate vsynch Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


no vsynch - avg 97.1 fps Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


Gonna take some time this weekend and get my build together as much as possible. I want to get an oc on my cpu soon. Quadfire is very temperamental as usual though, so its limiting benchmarks for sure as many games get negative or bad Cf scaling along with being impatient right now as i'd rather play than benchmark. Just figured we don't have much data on fiji in this thread sadly, and reviews get outdated.
Skinnered likes this.

ff0000T34M is offline  
post #4849 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 02:30 PM
 
xer0h0ur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Did you never see DG Lee's comprehensive testing of FuryX single,crossfire, tri-fire and quadfire? He's also not the only one to do testing on quad Fury X's but far as I know he did the most in depth testing of it. Your testing is a bit more niche than that though. Its already a small niche to run quadfire. You're further slimming it down by testing quadfire in eyefinity @ 5K.

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX | Intel Core i7 4960X @ 4.5 GHz | 16GB 4x4 2133MHz EVGA quad channel kit | Gigabyte FE GTX 1080 w/ Nickel EKWB | OCZ ZX1250W PSU | 1TB Samsung 850 Pro + 256GB Micron M550 SSDs | 1TB WD VelociRaptor | EK-DBAY pump/res | 360mm Alphacool NexXxos Monsta rad | x64 Windows 7 Ultimate | Samsung U28D590D 4K @ 60Hz | BenQ XL2730Z 1440p @ 144Hz
xer0h0ur is offline  
post #4850 of 11595 Old 10-24-2015, 02:45 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by xer0h0ur View Post

Did you never see DG Lee's comprehensive testing of FuryX single,crossfire, tri-fire and quadfire? He's also not the only one to do testing on quad Fury X's but far as I know he did the most in depth testing of it. Your testing is a bit more niche than that though. Its already a small niche to run quadfire. You're further slimming it down by testing quadfire in eyefinity @ 5K.

I get it dude, you seem to constantly have something to say when i post. Seeing as i have furyx and posting in the fury thread and you don't kind of doesn't make sense. Especially when you have nothing but negative or very condescending posts. Since it's that important to you i will not post here anymore. Have a nice day.

ff0000T34M is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off