RX480 in Old Rig ? (PCI-express 1.0) - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-02-2016, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
 
AlCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi ! I have a ol´gaming Rig. (Based on Q6600 @3.6GHz). I last year upgraded to GTX 960, and PC was still a useable, but i have a problem with this card and my local shop giving me money back. I bought an RX480 Nitro+ and when i was installed i have here a problem - a dark smoke ! PSU cable (eight pin) was burned !!! (Seasonic OEM 650W - but nine years old.). I was sad a my machine was K.O. - but this week i bought a new PSU (Corsair RM750x ) - and PC running again ! But i read a RX480 have in initial series problem with power efficiency on old board with PCI-express 1.0. I return Sapphire back - and now i can bought an MSi RX480 Gaming X. MSi have a best reviews and - best (most Silent) Cooler ? It is a risk used RX480 on old MB or i have a little bad luck on bad piece of RX480 ? (Or maybe a PSU was their best year after time...)

(I planned a brand new PC, but i waiting for 7700K).

My Ol´Rig

CPU:Q6600@3.6GHz with Noctua NF 12 tower
MB:Asus P-35 "Blitz"
PSU:Corsair RM750x (new)
Case: Be Quiet ! Dark Base 900
AlCZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 10-04-2016, 12:06 AM
Folding Fanatic
 
NKrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
ooh man, good luck! thumb.gif

[Build Log] - Pizza Under the Sea - SuperNAS - Caselabs/Seasonic/Supermicro
NKrader is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 10-04-2016, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
 
AlCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Bad idea ?
AlCZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 10-04-2016, 01:28 PM
PC Gamer
 
Boinz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 241
It might not be a great idea, but so long as you have a good PSU, and don't keep pushing for it to work, you might be ok. The problem is that you RX480 comes with only a single 8 pin. Meaning its going to want to draw wattage from the PCI express port (as is usual) but newer drivers should have alleviated this issue I think.

You'll have to try and see if it works.
Boinz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off