Oh Dear X2...(UT3 Problems) - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-01-2008, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
Its Been a While
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stoke, UK
Posts: 1,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 364
This has me stung a little

The 3870X2 will not play Unreal Tournament 3 at Highest settings.

Everytime I try to play this game at its highest, the game will simply crash back to windows saying "UT3.exe has stopped working".

Every other combination of settings I have tried work like clockwork, and with ultra high frames to boot. The only issue is everything maxed.


I have made some alterations to try and tweak it to work, including patching to 1.2, setting shaders on demand in the engine file, even driver settings...nothing.

I am hoping this is merely a driver issue. It is documented in catalyst release logs, but, well...This ATI card is one of the best ive had and I dont particularly want to have to switch setups again.

Any and all help is appreciated, and im sorry if this belongs somewhere else.
OrphanShadow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-01-2008, 06:23 PM
I'm no longer an Asushole
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Long shot, but have you reinstalled UT3 yet?
grunion is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-01-2008, 08:48 PM
003
nVidia Enthusiast
 
003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 306
The current 8.2 cats don't fully support the X2 yet, I am willing to bet many issues, crashes and performance, will be fixed in 8.3.

Other than that, I would make sure you are in fact using the 8.2 cats, and I would also update all your other drivers including ethernet, sound, chipset, and your BIOS.

Also, try deleting your UT3 config ini files so that new ones are created, and of course, use patch 1.2.

003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 03-02-2008, 09:54 PM
:(){ :|:& };:
 
binormalkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 496
This is a bug with the drivers apparently....I experience the same thing. THe problem is textures on max. Turn it down one notch and it should be good until they fix the issue....
Start a ticket with AMD. THey had a knowledge base article on it, and it said that they were aware of it and were trying to fix it.....but they deleted it..... You can still see the hit if you search for 'Unreal Tournament 3', but it's a dead link.

Anyhow, I've tested this thoroughly, and the only setting that causes it is texture detail. I've tried changing Catalyst AI too.....no difference.
This problem never happened with the original version.........1.1 broke it.

This issue has also spanned across a new Vista x64 install and three different sound cards, so it's DEFINITELY a driver bug. Don't go reinstall your graphics drivers, etc. because you're just wasting your time.

binormalkilla is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-03-2008, 08:30 AM
:(){ :|:& };:
 
binormalkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 496
Ok I got my ticket response back from ATI and they said to wait for the next driver release.....

binormalkilla is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off