ATI radeon 9000 pro2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
bicolormoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: manchester
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
i have a 9000pro2, which has been a great card but is showing its age, i am now looking at the sapphire x800 gto 2, as a replacement with gaming in mind.
looking in the threads, i have noticed something about running 2 cards together (SLI'ing?).
can i put a new card alongside my current card?
i am also overclocking at the moment up to 290.25/274.50 (275/261 stock).
is that a reasonable increase?

Mikes Rig : Allendale 6300 / Gigabyte ds4 / 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz Ram G-skill / X1900GT / Hiperpower 530w / Coolermaster Centron
My other rig for Grandad : 2.8Ghz Celeron D / Asrock P4i65G / 512mb pc3200 / 20gb HDD / Acer cd-rom + Fdd / 400w PSU / really small ugly case.
bicolormoth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 06:05 AM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
No, the 9000 isnt compadable with crossfire. I'm pretty sure you need to cards that are the same model. SLI is nVidia, Crossfire is ATI. And it only works if you have a compadable motherboard with two PCI-E slots.
Commander Kool is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 06:09 AM
4.0ghz
 
tuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicolormoth
i have a 9000pro2, which has been a great card but is showing its age, i am now looking at the sapphire x800 gto 2, as a replacement with gaming in mind.
looking in the threads, i have noticed something about running 2 cards together (SLI'ing?).
can i put a new card alongside my current card?
i am also overclocking at the moment up to 290.25/274.50 (275/261 stock).
is that a reasonable increase?
firstly, welcome to the forum, you will enjoy it here and there is plenty of help at hand any oc might help you a little bit but you really need to get ya hands on something else, fill in ya profile under user cp at the top left so we can see what weve all got to work with.

tuchan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 06:16 AM
4.0ghz
 
J3r3my's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 356
And the GTO2 is PCIe so youll need a new mobo

J3r3my is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
bicolormoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: manchester
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
ok you got me.......wots PCIe?

Mikes Rig : Allendale 6300 / Gigabyte ds4 / 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz Ram G-skill / X1900GT / Hiperpower 530w / Coolermaster Centron
My other rig for Grandad : 2.8Ghz Celeron D / Asrock P4i65G / 512mb pc3200 / 20gb HDD / Acer cd-rom + Fdd / 400w PSU / really small ugly case.
bicolormoth is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 09:58 AM
Original OCN Gangsta
 
Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 13,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 520
PCI-Express, the latest graphics interface, a step up from AGP. This thread needs to be moved to the ATI Section as well.

My CNC Mill Project
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid
Burn + Electricty + Water =
But the man has the patience of a saint...
We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.
--Randy Pausch
Current Best Benchmark

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Burn is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
bicolormoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: manchester
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
ok, sorry for wrong thread, i'm new.
i need some answers to some basic questions so i can figure some stuff out, pls bear with me.
my current card is AGP, i want to upgrade to a new AGP card with 256mb and ddr3 (or does that only come with pci-e ?). max spend £200.
i will be upping the mem to 2gb also.

Mikes Rig : Allendale 6300 / Gigabyte ds4 / 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz Ram G-skill / X1900GT / Hiperpower 530w / Coolermaster Centron
My other rig for Grandad : 2.8Ghz Celeron D / Asrock P4i65G / 512mb pc3200 / 20gb HDD / Acer cd-rom + Fdd / 400w PSU / really small ugly case.
bicolormoth is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 10:12 AM
Live Ever Die Never
 
wudaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 4,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicolormoth
ok, sorry for wrong thread, i'm new.
i need some answers to some basic questions so i can figure some stuff out, pls bear with me.
my current card is AGP, i want to upgrade to a new AGP card with 256mb and ddr3 (or does that only come with pci-e ?). max spend £200.
i will be upping the mem to 2gb also.
For AGP, I would personally get a Nvidia 6800gs (doesn't fill your requirements, but its the best bang for the buck), or if you have a little more then get a 6800gt (IMO not worth the extra $ over the 6800gs). Then again, maybe I'm an Nvidia person There is the x850xtpe which is 256mb and ddr3, but I don't think its worth it. How much USD is £200?

wudaddy is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
bicolormoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: manchester
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
about $400

Mikes Rig : Allendale 6300 / Gigabyte ds4 / 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz Ram G-skill / X1900GT / Hiperpower 530w / Coolermaster Centron
My other rig for Grandad : 2.8Ghz Celeron D / Asrock P4i65G / 512mb pc3200 / 20gb HDD / Acer cd-rom + Fdd / 400w PSU / really small ugly case.
bicolormoth is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-03-2005, 11:23 AM
Original OCN Gangsta
 
Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 13,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 520
It's alright, we all have to start somewhere new. Welcome to the forums, it's a very welcome place. Anyway, I'd go for the 6800GS, as it's, as already stated, now, the best bang for your buck.

However, comparatively, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121541
is a very good card under 400 USD. You can probably find it in the UK for close to 200 Pounds/Whatever the currency is.

My CNC Mill Project
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid
Burn + Electricty + Water =
But the man has the patience of a saint...
We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.
--Randy Pausch
Current Best Benchmark

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Burn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off