How To:Flash your 5850 Bios - Page 17 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #161 of 272 Old 05-19-2010, 11:46 PM
Just Win Baby!
 
brettjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cali Native in AZ
Posts: 14,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by glimo View Post
I have the same question as Wesley55. I just recently got a Sapphire 5850 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-884-_-Product) for my new system, I'm pretty sure it's a non-referrence card. I was trying to overclock it yesterday with MSI Afterburn, but was only able to get stable core clock of 840Mhz, I was however able to push my memory clock up to 1140Mhz. I went into the settings to enable vcore adjustments, but it's still not allowing me to change it. I tired to use several other programs to see the voltage, gpu-z doesnt show it so I assume it's probably running at the default which I believe is 1.08v. The card runs at around 55c under load after the overclock, so I'm sure I have room to increase the voltage.

Do you know if I'll be able to flash this card to the ASUS BIOS, and if so, will I then be able to adjust the voltages. I know that's whats holding my overclock back, and I want to know if theres a way to get around this without having to voltmod my PCB.
The link is broken. Are you running the latest afterburner (think it's still a beta) and you can't get the voltage control to enable at all, and you can't see the voltage level in the graphs even though you've enabled both in settings and restarted AB?

If that's the case, I'm betting your physical hardware simply doesn't have a VRM that allows voltage control. If this is the case, flashing to a different bios is futile, and inadvisable.

brettjv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #162 of 272 Old 05-19-2010, 11:47 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
.:hybrid:.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 4,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 177
is there a similar trick for the 5770 thats worth the effort?

thumb.gif

Chimp Challenge Participant 

.:hybrid:. is offline  
post #163 of 272 Old 05-20-2010, 10:44 AM
333mhz
 
XfactorX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hey i need a voltage control software to work with 5850 except msi afterburner cause it causes stutters with some games???

XfactorX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #164 of 272 Old 05-20-2010, 06:20 PM
WaterCooler
 
iGuitarGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by XfactorX View Post
hey i need a voltage control software to work with 5850 except msi afterburner cause it causes stutters with some games???
i think AB is causing stutters because you havent disabled CCC.
Happened to me before. Try it!

Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

iGuitarGuy is offline  
post #165 of 272 Old 05-20-2010, 07:37 PM
333mhz
 
XfactorX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGuitarGuy View Post
i think AB is causing stutters because you havent disabled CCC.
Happened to me before. Try it!
is that by marking on the box disable catalyst/. in 3d all

right?

XfactorX is offline  
post #166 of 272 Old 05-20-2010, 08:49 PM
WaterCooler
 
iGuitarGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by XfactorX View Post
is that by marking on the box disable catalyst/. in 3d all

right?
Um... I suppose so, sounds right.

The way I do it is just exit the program from the task bar, run msconfig from the start menu search, and turn off CCC for startup, then restart the computer.

Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

iGuitarGuy is offline  
post #167 of 272 Old 05-22-2010, 05:41 PM
333mhz
 
XfactorX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
well i did disabled the ccc and also got some stutters

specially in dirt 2 amd just cause 2

XfactorX is offline  
post #168 of 272 Old 05-22-2010, 08:37 PM
WaterCooler
 
iGuitarGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by XfactorX View Post
well i did disabled the ccc and also got some stutters

specially in dirt 2 amd just cause 2
Try installing 10.4 drivers and see if you still have that issue, or reinstall if you already have it

Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

iGuitarGuy is offline  
post #169 of 272 Old 05-23-2010, 01:53 AM
333mhz
 
XfactorX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGuitarGuy View Post
Try installing 10.4 drivers and see if you still have that issue, or reinstall if you already have it
did all this, i realized that the stutters belong to any gpu scale reader software like msi after burner monitoring

is there any possible way to disable the monitoring of msi afterburner

or use any other voltage control software?

XfactorX is offline  
post #170 of 272 Old 05-23-2010, 11:13 AM
WaterCooler
 
iGuitarGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by XfactorX View Post
did all this, i realized that the stutters belong to any gpu scale reader software like msi after burner monitoring

is there any possible way to disable the monitoring of msi afterburner

or use any other voltage control software?
Oh!!! I think I know what you can do. Try increasing the polling period in afterburner for the monitoring.

Or you could download the ASUS Smartdoctor software.

Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

iGuitarGuy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off