CrossFire problems? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-29-2010, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello OCN!
I recently added another 5770 to my setup, and I'm not sure if I'm seeing the performance I should be. It has actually decreased

No overclocks on the cards, drivers are 10.7 (Is there a better driver I should use? I'm still indecisive after reading the 10.8 reviews)

I use AMD OverDrive to monitor my CPU temps and load, however, in monitoring the cards, I noticed that the second isn't registering. However, GPU-Z is registering both different cards and temps. Is this OverDrive being faulty, or is my card not registering?

Also, one card downclocks itself to 150/300, whereas the other stays at 860/1200 even on idle. Why won't the second downclock when idle?

I'll put some more screenies up later of SC2 FPS. FPS is hitting 19-20, where as it was hitting 50-70. I have to put the graphics on High, as Ultra will overheat the cards too much (~ 95+). High quality also heats the cards, but not as bad. I know something is wrong here, when my hardware heat is the limitation of my performance? That's to come soon - for now, the GPU temps shot on idle. Why won't it downclock? Why won't it register on AMD OverDrive?

What should I be using to stress my cards and test them?

Thanks, errbody!
LL

Oxid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-29-2010, 01:21 PM
I laugh at some of the wanted posts...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: God save the Queen!
Posts: 11,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
To stress them you should go with furmark.

Also, you might need a driver reinstall.

Comps

Hidden Text Below! (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxhudson go_quote.gif
are you saying that a single core cpu cant run more than one process? because im positive i can run windows media player and google chrome at the same time on my amd sempron chip...
Quote:
Originally Posted by TestECull go_quote.gif
Mic jack? That'd be hotdog down hallway turf in this situation.


I suggest the manual release hole on the optical drive. Bonus points if you eject the tray!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Xeb go_quote.gif
Overclocking isn't buying the fastest just to be fast, it is buying the cheapest and making it fast!

Chimp Challenge Participant 

compuman145 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-29-2010, 01:32 PM
 
Neokolzia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
First fix that worked for my new Crossfire set up, 10.5, SC2 is much more CPU limited just as a heads up. But since its SC2 and I've heard bad things about frying cards, May want to give 10.8 a shot since that has a Sc2 fix in it.

But is this limited to just Sc2 or?


Does the Second GPU Load?

Neokolzia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 08-29-2010, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neokolzia View Post
But is this limited to just Sc2 or?

Does the Second GPU Load?
Game performance in general has decreased.
The second GPU is loading in games, thus registering, but what's with AMD OverDrive then, why won't it register the second card?

Oxid is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off