Crossfire: X1900XT and X1900XTX - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 16 Old 04-15-2006, 12:29 PM
Audiophile
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 5,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 316
HAZZAH! I have exactly what you need! lol, get the same mobo I have, the Asus P5WD2-E Premium, it can run CrossFire, supports the Pentium D Preslers fully and overclocks like crazy, my Pentium D 930 Presler 3.0GHz is at 4.21Ghz right now totally stable. it supports I think 16GB of DDR2 800 and it is my favorite of all my mobos

Remonster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 Old 04-15-2006, 12:29 PM
Audiophile
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 5,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 316
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131589

Sorry, 8GB of DDR2 800, still plenty lol.
stargate125645 likes this.

Remonster is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 04-15-2006, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stargate125645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remonster
HAZZAH! I have exactly what you need! lol, get the same mobo I have, the Asus P5WD2-E Premium, it can run CrossFire, supports the Pentium D Preslers fully and overclocks like crazy, my Pentium D 930 Presler 3.0GHz is at 4.21Ghz right now totally stable. it supports I think 16GB of DDR2 800 and it is my favorite of all my mobos
Great minds think alike! 8GB is plenty of RAM, as you said. That motherboard was actually already on my motherboards wishlist from when I was searching earlier. The only thing that I wish it had was a better sound card, but I don't have enough speakers for Dolby 5.1 anyway. I had this as my first choice, due to the faster PCI-E slots, better sound card, and more onboard USB ports:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813128002

Yours seems to support better default RAM speeds, which is another question I'll need to ask sooner or later (all of the nomenclature confuses me, such as DDR2 667 vs. DDR2 800 - I am especially confused why people use PC5400 and DDR2 667 for the same thing, or if they even are the same thing).

Is your motherboard easy to add USB ports so that I can connect to any frontal ports on my case? The case also says crossfire mode will run at PCI-E x8. Is this normal for crossfire?

stargate125645 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 16 Old 04-15-2006, 04:17 PM
Audiophile
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 5,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Yes, all CrossFire motherboards will run at 8x8 mode meaning they will split 1 PCIe X16 lane into 2 x8 lanes, this is how SLI works also. The exception to this rule are the new SLI x16 motherboards (nF4-SLI x16) and ATI Xpress 3200 boards which can run both SLI/CrossFire cards at x16 bandwidth, however tests have shown VERY little to no performance advantage using today's top of the line cards, but in the future as cards get more powerful they will start to saturate the 8x8 bandwidth, my opinion is if you really want the 16x16 bandwidth when you upgrade your graphics cards again, if you can afford 2 $500+ top of the line graphics cards, you can also afford a new $200 mobo so I wouldn't even worry about it.

My mobo (P5WD2-E Premium) has 4 USB 2.0 slots built into the back panel with the option to plug in your case's front panel for up to 10 USB ports I think. You have the 4 in the rear plus 2 USB headers and each header (plug on the motherboard) can supply 2 more so I guess that makes 8 USB 2.0 ports lol. I currently am using 3 of the rear ones as well as 1 header because my case has 2 front panel USB ports and they work great.

PC5400 refers to the bandwidth of the memory, PC5400 means that memory can transfer 5400MB/s of data, whereas DDR2 667 is the DDR (Double Data Rate) speed of the memory, DDR2 667 actually runs at 333MHz (333.5 to be precise, 333.5x2=667) and DDR2 400 runs at 200MHz, DDR2 533 runs at 266MHz etc.

Lastly, I have no idea how the onboard audio is on this motherboard because I have a PCI Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Value which I use so I disabled the onboard audio.

Any more questions? lol.

Remonster is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 04-15-2006, 04:19 PM
4.0ghz
 
ThaWaxShop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Edwardsville, PA
Posts: 5,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 551
yea the xpress 3200 run x16 true i wanna get the DFI one next lol

ThaWaxShop is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 04-15-2006, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stargate125645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 535
So the number listed after DDR or DDR2 is its clock speed in dual channel mode?

Is the only difference between DDR and DDR2 the fact that DDR2 has some design improvements and is more efficient, requiring less voltage, etc.?

How long until DDR3 (which is currently being developed), takes hold as the standard like DDR2 essentially is now?

stargate125645 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off