Troubles OCing FX-8120/AsRock 990fx extreme4 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 12-31-2011, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
 
Haf932AMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok so I'm having issues overclocking this chip from everything I've seen most people are hitting 4Ghz without touching the voltage. For me i have to bump it up to 1.4 core voltage for it to even run prime95 for any amount of time with out locking up right wawy. Ive tried just using the multiplyer at 20x Ive also tried setting the cpu at 211 and the multiplyer at 19 and still the same thing has to be at 1.4v to get anywhere. I've also noticed in CPU-z when at stock setting and running prime95 my core voltage hangs down around 1.23-1.245. Is this a bad chip, motherboard, crap PSU, Or am I overlooking somthing.
Haf932AMD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 12-31-2011, 07:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Have you manually set all the other voltages to there stock amounts instead of letting auto deal with it.
Also around 4ghz you need to bump up the cpu-nb voltage so do that if you haven't.

And lastly make sure you have the power saving features turn off inclucing APM.
Once you find a stable overclock you can turn cool & quite back on.


If cpu-z is showing voltage drop you need to turn up LLC to high or extreme, Or if your board doesnt have a option like that try another bios version.

SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti

Chimp Challenge Participant 

bmgjet is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 12-31-2011, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
 
Haf932AMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
on LLC it only show 1/2, 1/4, or disable says to set to 1/2 for overclocking AM3+ so that where i det it to. As for CPU NB I have it set at 1.225v how high should I go. Should I drop my CPU voltage down for 1.4 to like 1.36 or keep it at 1.4v
Haf932AMD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 12-31-2011, 09:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Drop cpu to 1.38v and raise the cpu-nb 1.28v
Every FX chip should be able to at least get 4-4.2ghz with that with a decent air cooler.


Or you can try my chips settings, Just make sure you have a good cooler since this can bring my antec 620 with push/pull 108cfm fans to its knees.

4.5ghz
18Xmulti
250mhz FSB
2500mhz NB with 10X multi
2750mhz HT with 11X multi.

CPU VID :1.42v
CPU-NB: 1.36v
NB: 1.24v
HT: 1.2v

But my chip is a better then average one so you might need 1.44v or if yours is a bad one 1.48v CPU Vid.

SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti

Chimp Challenge Participant 

bmgjet is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 12-31-2011, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter
 
Haf932AMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I tried your setting......no dice...so right now I'm at

4050mhz
18xmulti
225mhz FSB
2250mhz NB
2475mhz HT

CPU VID: 1.4625
CPU NB: 1.3625
NB: 1.24
HT: 1.2

Running at 40c with antec 920 per Core Temp
asrock tuning utility is saying I'm at 66c what one should i go by?
Haf932AMD is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 12-31-2011, 11:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 184
40C will be the core temps and 66C will be the socket temp.
Since your using a water cooler make sure you have a fan blowing on the NB and Mosfets around the CPU socket since there wont be any air flow coming from the stock cooler to those.


Since your NB is lower then 2500 you can drop some voltages.

CPU NB: 1.30v
NB 1.20v
Haf932AMD likes this.

SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti

Chimp Challenge Participant 

bmgjet is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 12-31-2011, 11:36 PM - Thread Starter
 
Haf932AMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok cool I droped my core voltage down to 1.4375 and droped CPU NB and NB down to what you said. I'm going to keep playing with it see if I can't get it any higher. So is 66c on the socket to high or should I only worrie about the core temps?

Thanks for all your help!!! + rep for you sir thumb.gif
Haf932AMD is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 12-31-2011, 11:50 PM
Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
good board btw, cept the "high cas no boot bug"

update your Bios to 1.47, or 1.5official
set your LLC to 25% which will give you the least amount of "Vdroop". disabled will give you a "Vrise" 100% will make you say *** is that amount of vdroop possible.

and btw on my 6100, 3600mhz VID(turbo) is 1.4 volts... so yes, it is quite possible to get a chip that needs 1.4 for all cores @ 4Ghz, specially the 8120/8150.

2700 HTT to high imo 2400 works for me.
2400 CPU-NB freq to start, 1.25 volts
Disable Application power managment
Disable Turbo......
Disable spread spectrum, cng, c6, etc..

Need more info on your ram, brand, speed, clock, timings, voltage etc.

Bulldozer will require more voltage running at same freq with higher fsb vs just mult btw.

and expect a wall at about 4.4Ghz + where it will want tons of volts... dont bother going past that unless you have extreme cooling (keeping cores below 38c at load)

im at 4.61(243x19) 1.45(VID) LLC(25%) ram at 810(1620) CPU-NB(2430) 1.25v
outside air ducted to a hyper 212+ Cores@ Idle varies.. below 15c, load 48 max prime.

[sorry for dumping]
(yes im going ivy bridge) had to throw that in there.
not even going to show respect to AMD by putting it in my sig.. F that.

6Core BD @ 4.6 = 4Ghz Thuban.
pretty sure i could push the thuban to 4.3Ghz+ 24/7 air
[/dump end]
Tyreal is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 01-01-2012, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
 
Haf932AMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have Crucial Balitix Sport 1333mhz timing is 9-9-9-24 2t at 1.5v
Haf932AMD is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 01-01-2012, 11:45 AM
 
bulati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have same board as yours and I have been playing around with it this past weeks. What i found out is with LLC at 25% or 50% you will get a very large amount of vdroop, If i remember correctly 1/2 will give .80v drop, 1/4 will give you around .60v drop. And it gets lower as time goes by, notice it during prime. By disabling LLC you will get slight overvolt during load. Ex. 1.38v might go to around 1.41v during load. try disabling LLC, APM, turbo boost, and all power management features. set you vcore to around 1.35~1.4 and try for 4.2 or 4.4ghz. Then adjust accordingly. One thing about this board is that there is a very big difference between core temps and sockets temp. 25c difference! I had mine priming at 4.5ghz socket temps register 80c and cpu temps at low 50's, I dont feel comfortable seeing 80c so im back to stock=)

bulati is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off