[OFFICIAL] FX-8320/FX-8350 Vishera Owners Club - Page 3400 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #33991 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:00 AM
it's moss - one - moss!
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synister View Post

That site is 'trusted' in the sense that it just listed the manufacturers specs? tongue.gif

Again I fail to see a need to purchase a 1000 Watt PSU for a 7950 X-fire system.

Hexus reviewed a few 7950s (non-reference) and they seemed to sit between 200-215 Watts.

I'm pretty darn sure any quality 850 Watt PSU would power 2x 7950s and an overclocked FX-83XX. The FX-9590 drew 250 Watts peak under load(system power).

So even then you're looking @ 250 x 2 for the cards (a generous 25%) = 500 Watts for the GPUs and leave 350 Watts for the CPU and rest of system. But I doubt anyone would be sat pulling 500 Watt from their crossfire'ed cards alone! (looking at a review currently where 2x 7970s and a i7 3960X pegged at: 640 Watts Furmark - 490 Watts gaming!

Will just add a few on the example you have given,

If a 7950 pulls 215W, over clocking it to a mere 15% would also ramp up its power draw by 15% without overvolting it. Add in another 15% overvolt, your power draw will ramp up to roughly 33%.. That will relate to 286 watts a card. And mind you, a 15% OC and OV on the card is very conservative.

With that aside, you won't be facing problems until you try to squeeze things out of your system on an 850W PSU.

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33992 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:24 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Johan45 is offline  
post #33993 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:39 AM
it's moss - one - moss!
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Been into this kind of discussion on another thread (not PSU thread) and another guy talked of this certain make of a PSU saying they could actually go overboard in terms of power delivery vs. Rated spec.

While it could be true, running a PSU out of it's rated spec is an idea I wouldn't think about nor recommend of. Even though, engineering thinking says it is possible and in fact practiced by manufacturers as a safeguard on their quality control (+-10% safety margin or margin of error), my practical mind still says, they wouldn't be sold as an 850W if they could work as a 1000W for no reason. It's just non sense on a business stand point.

Edit:

The discussion started when a guy was scrambling over his head why he cannot OC his 580 with a bios mod together with his stock i5 using a 350W!!! Platinum...

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33994 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:41 AM
PC Gamer
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by mus1mus View Post

Been into this kind of discussion on another thread (not PSU thread) and another guy talked of this certain make of a PSU saying they could actually go overboard in terms of power delivery vs. Rated spec.

While it could be true, running a PSU out of it's rated spec is an idea I wouldn't think about nor recommend of. Even though, engineering thinking says it is possible and in fact practiced by manufacturers as a safeguard on their quality control (+-10% safety margin or margin of error), my practical mind still says, they wouldn't be sold as an 850W if they could work as a 1000W for no reason. It's just non sense on a business stand point.

Most can, Not a good idea of course but mine's rated to 1300w for short periods of time.

I just believe in a little bit of overkill for power supplys.

AMD Community Manager for ANZ
Sgt Bilko is offline  
post #33995 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:45 AM
Overclocker
 
FlailScHLAMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: where it is always RANT:30....
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadboy90 View Post

So my cx750m crapped out. Just picked up a HX850. Would this be able to power my OCd 8320, and 2 OC'd 7950's if I picked up another one? I somehow doubt it...

my x850 is powering my 8350, 780 ti + 580

so ya... should work
FlailScHLAMP is offline  
post #33996 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:48 AM
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synister View Post


Which rig is that Sarge?

My Sig Rig (FX Trooper)

5.1Ghz @ 1.69v and 1100/1400 with 1.3v (i think) on the cards

EDIT: also take away the efficiency rating as well which means it's 835w

I've managed to come within tickling distance of 700 watts on an FX - 9370 with a single 7970, both clocked up to the limit of their stability.

FX8370E 5839mhz MSI 990FXA GD80 - custom water http://valid.x86.fr/3jk1vz
FX - 9370 @ 5740mhz MSI 990FXA GD-80 with an H-100 proof.gifhttp://valid.canardpc.com/s04jcj
I like MSI motherboards and this is why smile.gif
8350 @ 5.2 ghz on a stock cooler proof.gif PM me! smile.gif
cssorkinman is online now  
post #33997 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:49 AM
it's moss - one - moss!
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlailScHLAMP View Post

my x850 is powering my 8350, 780 ti + 580

so ya... should work

Should work on your part since your 780ti is not doing physics as it is done by your 580 and vice versa.

Honestly though, they would work even if you borderline them. Something will just have to compensate IMO. Could be your OC, could be longevity.

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
post #33998 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:53 AM
Overclocker
 
FlailScHLAMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: where it is always RANT:30....
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by mus1mus View Post

Should work on your part since your 780ti is not doing physics as it is done by your 580 and vice versa.

Honestly though, they would work even if you borderline them. Something will just have to compensate IMO. Could be your OC, could be longevity.

both cards are OC'd + the processor is a leaky pig..

i'm saying 850 works.. not ideal.. Id actually suggest 1.2k or greater.. once you get the second card in there the third isn't far behind me thinks
FlailScHLAMP is offline  
post #33999 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 07:53 AM
PC Gamer
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post

I've managed to come within tickling distance of 700 watts on an FX - 9370 with a single 7970, both clocked up to the limit of their stability.

I'd believe that, what clock and voltage where you running on the 9370?

I'm tempted to grab one even just for the fact it's better binned for lower voltage redface.gif

AMD Community Manager for ANZ
Sgt Bilko is offline  
post #34000 of 68054 Old 04-24-2014, 08:03 AM
it's moss - one - moss!
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlailScHLAMP View Post

both cards are OC'd + the processor is a leaky pig..

i'm saying 850 works.. not ideal.. Id actually suggest 1.2k or greater.. once you get the second card in there the third isn't far behind me thinks

Yup..

Using an 850 myself at the moment. Using just an 8320 at 4.8 and a 650 ti boost, my 12V rail goes down from 12.11 to 11.96 during stress testing. Not very well built I should say. But goes to show none the less.

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off