[OFFICIAL] FX-8320/FX-8350 Vishera Owners Club - Page 5067 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #50662 of 68054 Old 06-23-2015, 12:56 PM
PC Gamer
 
MiladEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Iran
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah, it gets about 40+ C at noon around here. It's cool at night though.

4.3 GHz also proved stable so that's what I'll be running it on for now. 4.4 GHz suddenly gets a lot hotter.
MiladEd is offline  
post #50663 of 68054 Old 06-23-2015, 02:15 PM
Overclocker
 
StrongForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Geneva Swiss
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mus1mus View Post

Fan positioning at the back can make or break the socket temps.

I can see up to 15C variance on my playbench. Not in a case. The bottom of the mobo is open with 3K RPM in a small AC'd room.

Yea it's annoying.. when closing the backplate the socket temp even spiked to 130 wdf lol.

I think right now it's in pull, in push the temps were worsening.. grr, I wonder if with the backplate the temps would actually help with push, damn it sux, I need help lol.

Anyone using backsocket fan with a closed backplate ?? I got an idea though as I could put fans to bring air and 1 to extract in the backplate (phanteks primo got holes there..).. but damn, more slim fans to buy, and what if it doesn't work.. maybe I just buy cheap slim fans for that though the cheapest/best I can find.

ran a quick test with occt 63 core 73 socket.. not bad at all, I wonder how much with gaming now, socket might stay under 70, which I need to prevent throttle ugh.

It's sad because I was expecting to be able to overclock even more with all those new fans..not happening, not yet at least.

Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth.

Buddha
StrongForce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #50664 of 68054 Old 06-23-2015, 02:25 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Xylonjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiladEd View Post

I was previously OCed to 4.4 GHz on my FX-8320, OV to 14.25. It proved stable under IBT, but today I had to run stock clocks to check something, and I can't get to the previous clocks anymore. IBT says unstable. My 4.4 GHz was achieved in the end of the winter, could this be the result of higher ambient temps in the summer?


I would think that yes, your ambient temps during the winter allowed you to achieve a certain clockspeed/voltage and now that warmer temps are here it is affecting your ability to achieve the same clockspeed. I ran into this issue a few weeks ago when trying to hit 4.6 on 1.369 volts (not happening until cooler weather returns).

devil-smiley-019.gif| OFFICIAL AMD FX-83xx Vishera Owners Club | devil-smiley-019.gif
MINNESOTA OVERCLOCKERS | The Climate Phenomenon| [/B]
post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif+1GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif_.=4 GHz Overclock Club=._ post-flame-small.gif
http://valid.canardpc.com/zmrbuc

AMD FX8320E OC'd to 5.1 Ghz /1.488v
ASUS Sabertooth FX990 R2.0
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO with dual fans
Powercolor Radeon HD7950 PCS 3GB
16GB DDR3 1600
750W PSU
Xylonjay is offline  
post #50665 of 68054 Old 06-24-2015, 12:25 AM
please keep drinking the koolaide
 
Mega Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO USA
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by mus1mus View Post

I know right! But this will be a single GPU solution.

Fury will be multi.

Besides, who wouldnt love to test both cards on the same platform?

fury/furyx is single gpu
fury x dual will be 2

Rigbuilder and how to put it in your sig post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif budget components = budget resultsPearls before swine! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

Also rma wise, regardless of what vendor used it's always like getting a tooth pulled imo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by szeged go_quote.gif

I facepalmed when trying to explain cpu and gpu overclocking to him after he got his 4930k. It was like teaching trigonometry to a rock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

That's like wrapping your car around a pole then asking for warranty service.
Dont be hard on yourself, we all break stuff sooner or later.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif

I don't appreciate your judgment here. I am just stating facts. That's all I'm doing. If you are taking offense to it or something, then that's not my problem, so don't put it on me. Ok?...Good god man. You would know that if you would actually carefully read...
Mega Man is offline  
post #50666 of 68054 Old 06-24-2015, 02:15 AM
PC Gamer
 
MiladEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Iran
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylonjay View Post

I would think that yes, your ambient temps during the winter allowed you to achieve a certain clockspeed/voltage and now that warmer temps are here it is affecting your ability to achieve the same clockspeed. I ran into this issue a few weeks ago when trying to hit 4.6 on 1.369 volts (not happening until cooler weather returns).

Yeah it seems so.

The thing is, my cooler is pretty cheap. I might wanna upgrade the cooler, what do you guys think about this one:

Deepcool Gamer Storm Maelstrom 120
MiladEd is offline  
post #50667 of 68054 Old 06-24-2015, 02:54 AM
it's moss - one - moss!
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Just go for a dual 120 at the very least to expect better OC.

Check this out: No Winter. Just sub 20C Ambient. And 2 360s CPU only loop.

100 Runs at Very High for 5.2GHz Profile! (Click to show)



D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
post #50668 of 68054 Old 06-24-2015, 03:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mega Man View Post

fury/furyx is single gpu
fury x dual will be 2

I looked at one... a fury x.... it didn't even look mildly annoyed... let alone furious... but then looks aren't everything... maybe its a Clark Kent / Superman thing lol.

drool.gif http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sapphire-AMD-Radeon-R9-Fury-X-GPU-/261933557328?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cfc74e650

devil.gif| 5ghz 24/7 club| devil.gif
cool.gif The Real Folders Club cool.gif
How to get good FPS out of your FX shh don't tell Intel: clicky
Minotaurtoo is online now  
post #50669 of 68054 Old 06-24-2015, 03:43 AM
PC Gamer
 
MiladEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Iran
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mus1mus View Post

Just go for a dual 120 at the very least to expect better OC.

Check this out: No Winter. Just sub 20C Ambient. And 2 360s CPU only loop.

100 Runs at Very High for 5.2GHz Profile! (Click to show)



Holy crap, 5.2 GHz?! Nice!

Considering my mobo, the highest OC I can achieve is about 4.6 GHz. Do you think that cooler can provide enough cooling for that kind of OC?
MiladEd is offline  
post #50670 of 68054 Old 06-24-2015, 06:49 AM
 
mfknjadagr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiladEd View Post

Holy crap, 5.2 GHz?! Nice!

Considering my mobo, the highest OC I can achieve is about 4.6 GHz. Do you think that cooler can provide enough cooling for that kind of OC?
I don't think you'll get it stable on air...there comes a point where air can't compete id guess its over 5.0ghz or so unless someone finds a good tinted e chip

Edit: did you mean 4.6 or 5.2?

mfknjadagr8 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off