Steamroller ? AM3+ ? - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 32 Old 11-14-2012, 11:16 PM
 
xxkedzxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by d-block View Post

I wouldn't wait. Might as well go ahead and switch to Intel. AMD hasn't done anything to keep your business.

Oh no? Blind fanboy much?

Steamroller should work

Sent from my Droid X running ICS CM9

I don't get drunk, I get awesome!!
xxkedzxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 32 Old 11-15-2012, 04:19 AM
 
pc-illiterate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by anubis44 View Post

Enjoy your single-threaded performance in ancient games.

i pointed out current games. i see you dont care. i also see youre kissing ass on the other side.

post-flame-small.gif_.=5 GHz Overclock Club=._post-flame-small.gif
pc-illiterate is online now  
post #23 of 32 Old 11-15-2012, 12:20 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Malo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Burlington, ON Canada
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by pc-illiterate View Post

ancient games ? i frickin rock bf3 and skyrim and borderlands 2 and max payne 3. how ancient are they ?
yeah, single threaded performance in ancient games. lol. btw, they rock too thumb.gif

bf3 = multi threaded
borderlands 2 = not single threaded, doesnt run better on intel, very GPU intencive
skyrim = single threaded, you can have this one.basiclly ported to PC from console
max payne 3 = yet again GPU intencive, doesnt make a diffrence on AMD or intel,

do your research before you spout off thumb.gif

AMD FX Clubsniper.gif
post-flame-small.gif_.=5 GHz Overclock Club=._post-flame-small.gif



Malo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 32 Old 11-15-2012, 12:34 PM
5.0ghz
 
dixson01974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 9,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Send a message via MSN to dixson01974 Send a message via Yahoo to dixson01974
I'm a fanboy of AMD and I can only say that for a CPU intencive game like Starcraft it is better on Intel. If AMD keep going like the BD vs. PD on the cores. AMD should be around or higher than SB with Steamroller in the single threads stuff.
But only time will tale the story.

dixson01974 is offline  
post #25 of 32 Old 11-15-2012, 06:35 PM
 
pc-illiterate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Malo maybe you should read every post more carefully. Anubis said ancient games. I pulled 3 games out of my hdd/ssd and stated they arent ancient. As i said maybe you should read every post.

post-flame-small.gif_.=5 GHz Overclock Club=._post-flame-small.gif
pc-illiterate is online now  
post #26 of 32 Old 11-15-2012, 07:19 PM
 
Dimaggio1103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Mohave
Posts: 5,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 251
The new consoles will be AMD CPU's inside, so all the games coming out on them, then ported to PC will be optimized with the AMD architecture. I way prefer Intel, but this fact cannot be ignored.
Dimaggio1103 is offline  
post #27 of 32 Old 11-15-2012, 08:51 PM
Overclocker
 
os2wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 2,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2advanced View Post

Who are you to offer advice on something you obviously have very little-to no knowledge about?
Steamroller will be compatible with AM3+ Boards assuming that the manufacturers release the bios update to support it. But it will drop right in. thumb.gif

It is not a definite that steamroller will be AM3+. There will be a refresh of vishera done late in 2013 which will still be AM3+ . Many ill-informed people are calling that late 2013 refresh steamroller , well it isn't. It will probably be .28 nm process , but it will be vishera refreshed. In 2014 steamroller comes, most likely on a new socket as AM3+ doesn't allow for enough data transfer for steamroller.

Technology is NOT a liberator . Whom technology serves is a class question. Technology wielded by the capitalist class benefits only the exploiters. Technology wielded by the working class will benefit all of humanity.
MSI Xpower Titanium X370
Ryzen 1800X at 3.9 GHZ , AlphaCool Eisbaer 360 AIO expandable liquid cooler
16 GB G.Skill FlareX DDR4 3200 CL14-14-14-34 1.35v
Samsung 960 EVO m.2 NVMe 512 GB, Samsung 850 EVO 512 GB SSD
Powercolor RX Vega 56 reference card, Alphacool Eiswolf GPX Pro for RX Vega
Seasonic Platinum 860 watt PSU , ThermalTake Core V71 Full Tower case
os2wiz is offline  
post #28 of 32 Old 11-15-2012, 09:00 PM
Overclocker
 
os2wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 2,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Well The 8350FX did better than the I7 37770 in Battlefield III ultimate 97 FPsS. So who knows what they are talking ab out. Any multithreaded game will gve the Vishera cpu's and advantage. More and more games are being written as multithreaded apps and that means the end of Intel domination of gaming bencjhmarks is coming to an end.

Technology is NOT a liberator . Whom technology serves is a class question. Technology wielded by the capitalist class benefits only the exploiters. Technology wielded by the working class will benefit all of humanity.
MSI Xpower Titanium X370
Ryzen 1800X at 3.9 GHZ , AlphaCool Eisbaer 360 AIO expandable liquid cooler
16 GB G.Skill FlareX DDR4 3200 CL14-14-14-34 1.35v
Samsung 960 EVO m.2 NVMe 512 GB, Samsung 850 EVO 512 GB SSD
Powercolor RX Vega 56 reference card, Alphacool Eiswolf GPX Pro for RX Vega
Seasonic Platinum 860 watt PSU , ThermalTake Core V71 Full Tower case
os2wiz is offline  
post #29 of 32 Old 11-16-2012, 12:34 AM
AMD Overclocker
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mount Airy, NC
Posts: 4,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Send a message via Yahoo to jsc1973
Quote:
Originally Posted by anubis44 View Post

Too bad you're expected to run it on a single core Pentium III-descendant CPU at 10,000MHz to get good performance, though.
Hell, the Pentium III itself was nothing but the second major revision of the Pentium Pro that Intel released in 1995.
jsc1973 is offline  
post #30 of 32 Old 11-16-2012, 12:54 AM
AyyMD
 
Artikbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catalunya
Posts: 14,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 612
Artikbot is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off