AMD 64 3800+ x2 need overclocking... on M2N-SLi - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 25 Old 12-07-2006, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got onto the BIOS but couldnt find anything that could altered the FSB...

Also the Clock frequency the greyed out so I cant alter it..

Im on Phoenix BIOS if this is any help (M2N SLi)

Anyone help me a bit more or know a noob friendly guide for oc'ing on this BIOS



-------


Another question

Whats the most practical speed my 3800+ x2 can be clocked too

Is 2.75 GHz out of the question




Can anyone help ???????

TY

Could do with some help xD
o0t3hpimp0o is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 25 Old 12-07-2006, 09:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Just bump the thread, no need to double post...

We probably have the same BIOS so I'll help you out here.

First of all, you need to change your overclock setting in the BIOS to MANUAL. They are on AUTOMATIC right now. That's why they are greyed out.

It's under the first option on the second screen... wait a minute. I'll brb with pictures to make this A LOT easier!

CWell1337 is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 12-07-2006, 09:41 AM
4.0ghz
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWell1337 View Post
Ehh. He may be right, but I've never had a problem with it...

Most ASUS boards have a function on them that lets you save BIOS profiles. Makes it very easy to switch back and forth from stock to OC w/o a lot of fuss!
Mine doesnt :'(

2.75 IS out of the question - Try going for 200 MHz more than stock, then 250, then 275, then 290, then 300 etc, as you will be lucky to get more than 400
Jakg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 25 Old 12-07-2006, 09:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 185
OK here we go. first you will want to navigate to the screen in the picture.



The AI Tuning Is what you want to read as Manual.
Then you can change the CPU Frequency (FSB) from stock (200Mhz). You want to do this in 10Mhz increments to start out. After you change it, each time boot to windows and see if it crashes. If it doesn't then reboot and go back into the BIOS and up it again another 10Mhz.

This whole process is a lot of trial and error and can be very time consuming so stick with it.

When you do crash, and you still want to go further, you need to raise your vcore one, maybe two notches. Also, make sure in Advanced Voltage Control, you have the vcore offset set to 200mV. It's the first option there.

Then you can repeat this as needed. You will get to a point where you just can't go any higher however no matter what. Well you do not want to typically raise your vcore over 1.6v. And remember, the vcore offset adds extra voltage to what you have it set at in your BIOS.

What you should do when your FSB gets to about 250Mhz is go lower your HTT multi from 5x down to 4x. That's on the CPU configuration screen BTW.

You want to make sure also, at idle that your temps don't go to high. Because you want your rig to be under 55C at load. What cooling do you have now again?

CWell1337 is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 12-08-2006, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I see what you mean about time consuming

numerous crashes when it was only put up too 220MHz

Best Ive got so far without adapting any voltage settings


Could do with some help xD
o0t3hpimp0o is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 12-08-2006, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0


This is how for i got

Any reccomendations on where i go next?


Thanks

Could do with some help xD
o0t3hpimp0o is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 12-09-2006, 01:22 AM
4.0ghz
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Is your ram on a divider? Tried different multi's?
Jakg is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 12-10-2006, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakg View Post
Is your ram on a divider? Tried different multi's?
Ermm not tried different multis and not sure if you my ram has didviders...

Could do with some help xD
o0t3hpimp0o is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 12-10-2006, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Right PC has gone really unstable due to trying to improve GPU and CPU

So I've put everything at default and going to use nTune to try and improve my performance a bit

Got too this point after about 1h30 of it rebooting and me pressing F1

Dont know how much longer i can do this....

It keeps hanging and crashing like nTunes warns but its like every 5mins....

I set it 20mins but as I said its been doing this for 1h30 if not more.....


-----

Ok it's now been stopped and this is what happened



Going to try CSS to see if it is stable

However at startup it freezes on M2N SLi screen, then I reboot and I still get system boot failed, press F1 to continue or DELETE to go into setup.....

Could do with some help xD
o0t3hpimp0o is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 12-10-2006, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0

Didnt come up in last thread for some reason

Just ran a 10min stress test and everythings fine

Could do with some help xD
o0t3hpimp0o is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off