Spend the money to get a 965 BE or just spend a ton more for an i5? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
 
evergrey2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I currently run an AMD 920, oc'd to 3.08.
I have a A780GXE/128M mobo and 6 gig of ram and a 128gb SSD and a huge aftermarket thermaltake CPU fan.

I have a 7950 video card. I was thinking that if there is a bottleneck anywhere now in my system it would be the processor.

Now, with driving games and FPS taking up about half my time, and photo editing the other half, I am wondering if I can futureproof my machine by getting a 965 BE and OC it as far as I can go.

Pretty sure nothing faster will fit in this mobo, so the only thing to do would be to step up to a new processor. This would mean a new mobo, new memory. So, if I want to make the leap I go from 150$ to 430 bucks for an i5, mobo and memory.

How close does the OVERCLOCKED 965 BE come to an i5? Does this plan make any sense?
evergrey2013 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:18 PM
"FineWine®" just means that it's currently swill.
 
svenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 406
If you're thinking of going Intel, be advised that in June the new "Haswell" i5/i7 chips will be released. They use a different socket (1150) than the current Ivy Bridge lineup (1155), so if you can hold out until then that would be the way I'd go.

svenge is offline  
post #3 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:19 PM
SMK
4.0 GHz
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD - USA
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Hold out for i5

Negative Ghostrider, the pattern is full.

If the Army and the Navy ever look on Heaven’s scenes; they will find the streets are guarded by the United States Marines.
SMK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:24 PM
No keyboard detected! Press F1 to continue..
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Fairly close i'd say..I mean..I've had both...Intel is definitely smoother ..and has been since Wolfdale;but 965 BE is still a force to be reckoned with for gaming.Let's see..get 92% of the performance by spending about $100,or get the full 100% by spending around $450..hmm..

up to you.

http://valid.canardpc.com/2729477 I just validated that..it's my daily OC.YMMV

I prefer AMD for daily..web surfing..etc..

something about the instruction pipelines i guess...

AMD..It'll lag for a few seconds (3-5) every now and then..

Intel..You click something and 15 seconds later you're like"Didn't I click that?" then 2 browsers or whatever pop up..20 seconds later.
Schmuckley is offline  
post #5 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:28 PM
Crimea river
 
Vlasov_581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX/Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 8,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 540
here is one for $80 http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-AMD-Phenom-II-X4-Processor-965-3-4GHz-AM3-HDZ965FBK4DGM-/380441617411?pt=CPUs&hash=item5894166403

now this 965 is a 125w cpu, so idk how well it will oc on that board, especially with those exposed vrms......an i5 will be noticeably faster, but not by an extra $350+ smile.gif

Vlasov_581 is offline  
post #6 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:43 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Stinger5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I have my 965 overclocked to 3.7ghz and everything runs smooth no problems here......................thumb.gif
Stinger5150 is offline  
post #7 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:43 PM
"FineWine®" just means that it's currently swill.
 
svenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Sometimes I wonder if the only reason AMD owners keep on buying new AMD chips is because the lack of motherboard switch-over costs (since they haven't changed sockets in seemingly forever) makes its lower performance seem more palatable...

svenge is offline  
post #8 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:47 PM
Crimea river
 
Vlasov_581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX/Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 8,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by svenge View Post

Sometimes I wonder if the only reason AMD owners keep on buying new AMD chips is because the lack of motherboard switch-over costs (since they haven't changed sockets in seemingly forever) makes its lower performance seem more palatable...


that's right....upgrade a motherboard when you absolutely need it, and NOT when you want a new cpu lachen.gif

Vlasov_581 is offline  
post #9 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:47 PM
Security Sleuth
 
Kainn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
might be worth waiting for SR(steam roller), i don't follow release dates too much so i have no idea when its coming out, but i heard soonish.
Kainn is offline  
post #10 of 46 Old 03-13-2013, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
 
evergrey2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SVENGE: you are exactly correct. I am trying to figure out if the performance difference is so huge that it makes sense to spend 3.5X as much money.
It is kind of irritating to think I will only get a 10-15% increase by switching over to Intel.
And when Haswell comes out, the right move would be to buy the current i5. But do we expect to see a price drop from Intel that makes them palatable?
evergrey2013 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off