5 Ghz Overclocks Vishera - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: Which cpu are you running clocked to 5 ghz stable?
FX-8350 46 52.27%
FX-8320 21 23.86%
FX-6350 3 3.41%
FX-6300 15 17.05%
FX-4300 3 3.41%
Voters: 88. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 195 Old 07-18-2013, 10:28 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker
 
computerparts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In the shadows
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Just curious to see how many of you guys are clocked at 5 ghz stable and with which cpu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masta Squidge go_quote.gif

Clearly not, you don't know how it works. The CPU has to build every individual frame before it sends the data to the GPU to be rendered.
FX-8120 vs. 2500k BenchmarksAMD FX Clubsniper.gif
computerparts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3 of 195 Old 07-18-2013, 11:48 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
jason387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: India, Calcutta
Posts: 7,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketAbyss View Post

5GHz FX-8350 at 1.52v here! biggrin.gif
Is it p95 stable?
jason387 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 195 Old 07-19-2013, 12:31 AM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
RocketAbyss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
RocketAbyss is online now  
post #5 of 195 Old 07-20-2013, 12:09 AM
 
azanimefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
not my cpu, but my buddy called me after he got his prebuilt fx6300 system, so i came over and helped him overclock. He paid too much for the system but it had a solid mb (ga-990a-ud5) an alright psu (xfx-600W) and a corsair h80i. so i figured we'd see how good his fx was and we started out just increasing the multiplier and loading into windows.

4.5, 4.6, 4.7 i was a little weirded out, no vcore bump yet, so we ran prime95... passed with flying colors on stock voltage at 4.7ghz... at that point i looked at him and said "we gotta go for it, you just won the lottery" so we strapped in and enjoyed the ride. it started to need vcore to load into windows at 5.2ghz, we hit a prime stable overclock at 5.6ghz and i think it was 1.4625 (?) vcore... ended up bowing out at that point as we could get it to load into windows up to 5.8, but we couldn't get it stable there... and at 5.7 we needed something stupid like 1.55vcore, and the temps were nuts

so... a day to day 5.6ghz, 1.4625V vcore with a 55C prime95 temp (not sure on that temp, the cpu doesn't report the temps right, going on a best guess from the socket temp reported by the mb) on a corsair h80i with a ga-990fxa-ud5 mb. About as good an fx 6300 as i've seen. (a friend of a friend of mine has an 8320 he got to 5.5ghz stable on air, probably could get it further on a custom water loop, i know he could get it to load into windows at 5.7)


but yeah... even not having an fx or even working with many (grand total of 3) i could tell that chip was special. Great overclocking little monster. I don't know if it was pre-binned by fry's or not. i don't think they do that, so he might have just won the lottery with it. i've been meaning to look into if fry's bins their chips they use in their custom systems ever since i saw that little baby. Cause it's a one in a hundred... maybe a one in a thousand.
azanimefan is offline  
post #6 of 195 Old 07-20-2013, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker
 
computerparts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In the shadows
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by azanimefan View Post

not my cpu, but my buddy called me after he got his prebuilt fx6300 system, so i came over and helped him overclock. He paid too much for the system but it had a solid mb (ga-990a-ud5) an alright psu (xfx-600W) and a corsair h80i. so i figured we'd see how good his fx was and we started out just increasing the multiplier and loading into windows.

4.5, 4.6, 4.7 i was a little weirded out, no vcore bump yet, so we ran prime95... passed with flying colors on stock voltage at 4.7ghz... at that point i looked at him and said "we gotta go for it, you just won the lottery" so we strapped in and enjoyed the ride. it started to need vcore to load into windows at 5.2ghz, we hit a prime stable overclock at 5.6ghz and i think it was 1.4625 (?) vcore... ended up bowing out at that point as we could get it to load into windows up to 5.8, but we couldn't get it stable there... and at 5.7 we needed something stupid like 1.55vcore, and the temps were nuts

so... a day to day 5.6ghz, 1.4625V vcore with a 55C prime95 temp (not sure on that temp, the cpu doesn't report the temps right, going on a best guess from the socket temp reported by the mb) on a corsair h80i with a ga-990fxa-ud5 mb. About as good an fx 6300 as i've seen. (a friend of a friend of mine has an 8320 he got to 5.5ghz stable on air, probably could get it further on a custom water loop, i know he could get it to load into windows at 5.7)


but yeah... even not having an fx or even working with many (grand total of 3) i could tell that chip was special. Great overclocking little monster. I don't know if it was pre-binned by fry's or not. i don't think they do that, so he might have just won the lottery with it. i've been meaning to look into if fry's bins their chips they use in their custom systems ever since i saw that little baby. Cause it's a one in a hundred... maybe a one in a thousand.

WOW! I knew there were some good chips out there, but 5.6 ghz? And on a pre-built system at that. That's unreal. And only 55c on Prime95? Still got room, it won't throttle until 70's.That thing must be blazing fast. That's real interesting though because up until now I was thinking that the FX-8350 were the best binned. Just goes to show there are good chips out there regardless of model number. You have some lucky friends. I hope I get that lucky on mine. Also makes me wonder if those new FX-9370 and 9590 are all binned like that one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masta Squidge go_quote.gif

Clearly not, you don't know how it works. The CPU has to build every individual frame before it sends the data to the GPU to be rendered.
FX-8120 vs. 2500k BenchmarksAMD FX Clubsniper.gif
computerparts is offline  
post #7 of 195 Old 07-20-2013, 02:14 PM
PC Gamer
 
Hits9Nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My fx8320 will do 5.0 (4996) but needs 1.62v, I am happy with 4.84 @1.52v

Maybe next time.

Hits9Nine is offline  
post #8 of 195 Old 07-20-2013, 04:19 PM
 
azanimefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by computerparts View Post

WOW! I knew there were some good chips out there, but 5.6 ghz? And on a pre-built system at that. That's unreal. And only 55c on Prime95? Still got room, it won't throttle until 70's.That thing must be blazing fast. That's real interesting though because up until now I was thinking that the FX-8350 were the best binned. Just goes to show there are good chips out there regardless of model number. You have some lucky friends. I hope I get that lucky on mine. Also makes me wonder if those new FX-9370 and 9590 are all binned like that one.

we're guessing on the temps... as i said, the chip doesn't report it's temps right (30C all the time, no change). At 5.7 it took too much vcore to try to stabilize for prime... and temps went through the roof on the socket... we pulled the plug on prime after 1 pass, when the socket temp was around 67C and it was still rising. but yeah.. it just sorta hit its wall at 5.6, but still that was a crazy ride. first time i ever personally hand my hands on a pc which broke 5ghz in front of my eyes.

Still want to know if frys does any sort of binning on their prebuilt systems though. I know it came pre-overclocked to 4.4ghz. so i suspect there was that much binning done... that said, i think pretty much any fx6300 will hit 4.4 on a corsair h80i. I probably shouldn't call him a friend, more like an acquaintance who i've done some pc work for in the past. The friend of a friend however... that dude is a hard core overclocker, and owns an internet cafe. know him mostly in passing. interesting cat. he's definitely about as hardcore about OCing as i used to be 14 years ago...
azanimefan is offline  
post #9 of 195 Old 07-23-2013, 08:48 PM
 
Overclocker83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
thumb.gif 5.0 ghz @ 1.5 v
Overclocker83 is offline  
post #10 of 195 Old 07-23-2013, 09:07 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
RocketAbyss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
RocketAbyss is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off