FX-8320 with asrock extreme3 r2.0 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
 
PotatoDew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I was looking into overclocking my cpu (FX-8320), but I'm seeing things that say that overclocking with my mobo (asrock extreme3 r2.0) doesn't do so well. However, there are other people saying that it's possible to do so, and at around 4ghz.

So if I'm able to overclock, how far will I be able to go (speed and voltage)?
PotatoDew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
 
PotatoDew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
bump (is this allowed?)
PotatoDew is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 05:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 100
read forum rules if you have that sort of question.


Your motherboard has heatsinks for the VRMs and northbridge chipset, and has an 8pin PCU power plug.

Id say you are good for going to 4GHz no problem.


You have a disadvantage though. your cpu is a 125watt TDP. if you were on a 95watt TDP 8 core you would have a bit more success

you can hit 4GHz easily though. go into BIOS, disable turbo and cool N quiet and any power saving modes.


Then set your cpu to its turbo voltage. cpu-world lists your cpu as 1.425 volts.

If you set 1.425 volts, set your multiplier to 20x, you should be at 4GHz. stress test to verify it is stable, and WATCH YOUR TEMPERATURES


HWinFO64 reads a lot of temperatures, is free, and a great tool to see how high the temps get.

use interburntest, should have agent GOD somewhere on it, it is the correct version to use. majorgeeks should have a download for it


EDIT once you find it stable, you can then drop voltage one tick, or to 1.415 if you have manual input available, and retest. the goal is to lower voltage at 4GHz so you can reduce heat and stress of the motherboard.
PotatoDew likes this.
mattliston is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 05:30 PM
PC Gamer
 
AcEsSalvation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 220
I assume ASRock Extreme3 970?
If so, the VRMs leave much to be desired. It sounds like what others are telling you is accurate to a degree. You could get a little extra speed out of your chip, but I wouldn't expect much. It is also likely that your board will also encounter heat issues as well. Stress tests will no doubt bring it to it's limits quite quickly but while doing your usual tasks (including gaming if that is what you do) you won't see the temperature issues as often or quickly.
If we are talking about the board only, it should get you to 4GHz and maybe to 4.2GHz or so, but it will be difficult.
But, we have to also see what other parts you have. What is your PSU and CPU cooler?

Also
Quote:
Originally Posted by PotatoDew View Post

bump (is this allowed?)
It is if the post before has been up for at least 24 hours.

3 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

AcEsSalvation is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
 
PotatoDew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I went for 3.7GHz first, and saw in open hardware monitor (already installed) that "Temperature #1", which looked something like this:


hit over 78 degrees while running prime95 (already installed).

Is this okay, and should i oc higher?


EDIT:
I guess this is important as well, cpu core temperatures hit 60.8 degrees maximum
PotatoDew is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 07:20 PM
PC Gamer
 
AcEsSalvation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 220
CPU and motherboard are at their thermal limits. The VRMs might have a little more left in them, but it's best not to push anymore. You will probably need to mount a makeshift heatsink on the VRMs and get better case airflow.
PotatoDew likes this.

3 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

AcEsSalvation is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
 
PotatoDew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Alright, good to know.
By the way, is 78 degrees for this "Temperature #1" sensor okay?
PotatoDew is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 08:40 PM
PC Gamer
 
AcEsSalvation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Depends from board to board. Considering it's a lower to mid ranged board, I'd say don't push it any further or let it stay that hot for long. I'll see what I can dig up on ASRock 970 thermal limits.

Update: Looking at the board again I realize I have miscounted and over estimated the ability of the VRM. This is a low end 4 phase board. Running a 8-core FX at stock is essentially this boards limit. Trying to get anything more is quite a task.

3 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

AcEsSalvation is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 12-13-2017, 08:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 12,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 919
I had that board! Got my 8320 to boot (only with 4 cores enabled) at 5022mhz and was able to get in a few Super Pi runs biggrin.gif

3DMark and anything more demanding I was limited to 4.8 with all 8 enabled due to temps but as long as your case airflow is okay, the board really isn't as bad as some of the people here are making it seem.

2 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

The Pook is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 12-14-2017, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
 
PotatoDew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm pretty sure it's just my cooling that's preventing me from going over 4GHz, I may have to look into that.

I'm still sort of concerned about the "Temperature #1" sensor, some people are saying its the cpu socket and that it shouldn't go over 70 degrees. I also noticed that it's under a thing called "Nuvoton NCT6776F", if someone could tell me what it is
PotatoDew is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off