Need help please - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
ok notice the difference in how CPU-Z and Everest Ultimate 4.20 report the divider....which one is correct? Also what is the difference between the dram freq on CPU-Z (457.8) and the Memory bus on Everest (534.1)? I know little to nothing about memory tweaks etc. Last question: does anyone see a way to improve my memory performance?

These screens are taken with: 1.5vcore, PCIE buses locked at 100Mhz, NB<>SB HT Freq. locked at 200Mhz, trc=26, tfrc=3, max async=8ns, Advanced Voltages (default), AI Clock Skew (auto/normal), SLI Ready memory (disabled), RAM timings at (default) w/ 2.1vcore [Corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5D (1066Mhz)]




ghot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 11:07 AM
You break it, I fix it.
 
noobdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Overclock.net
Posts: 8,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 833
what are they reading at stock settings?

noobdown is offline  
post #3 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 11:11 AM
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 28,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
gonX is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 11:15 AM
1.3ghz
 
llChaosll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brooklyn, N.Y.
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey sup man, from what I know, the Dram Frequency from CPU-Z is the Frequency your ram is running at as opposed to the Everest screen reporting 534 which is the stock frequency of your memory module. You are running 1066bus ram modules which is DDR2.
534 X 2 is 1068, close enough.

So your ram is running at 457 X 2 which is 914mh effective.

Just a tip, try not use half multis, I see your using 14.5 Multi.
Change to 14 or lower it even more & increase your HTT so you can get close to 1000 frequency on your ram.
To the other question, I'm not sure why its reporting 2 different dividers.
I would think CpU-Z is correct though and not Sandra.

Hope that helps & GL.

llChaosll is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 11:18 AM
You break it, I fix it.
 
noobdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Overclock.net
Posts: 8,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by llChaosll View Post
Hey sup man, from what I know, the Dram Frequency from CPU-Z is the Frequency your ram is running at as opposed to the Everest screen reporting 534 which is the stock frequency of your memory module. You are running 1066bus ram modules which is DDR2.
534 X 2 is 1068, close enough.

So your ram is running at 457 X 2 which is 914mh effective.

Just a tip, try not use half multis, I see your using 14.5 Multi.
Change to 14 or lower it even more & increase your HTT so you can close to 1000 frequency on ram.

To the other question, I'm not sure why its reporting 2 different dividers.
I would think CpU-Z is correct though and not Sandra.

Hope that helps & GL.
just because it is rated for 1066 dose not mean that is runs exactly at 533
i my self think everest is right aslong as his ram is set to 533(1066) in the bios
if set to a lower ram speed i agree with gonx

set your ram to 800mhz in bios with out the .5 and see were you stand in this chart

noobdown is offline  
post #6 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
ok heres the ones i tried.....

................5x HT combos..........................................4x HT combos........................

........16x200Mhz = 1000Mhz HT Bus.......................12.5x256Mhz = 1024Mhz HT Bus
........15.5x207Mhz = 1035Mhz HT Bus.......................12x267Mhz = 1068Mhz HT Bus
........15x214Mhz = 1070Mhz HT Bus.......................11.5x279Mhz = 1116Mhz HT Bus
........14.5x221Mhz = 1105Mhz HT Bus.......................11x291Mhz = 1164Mhz HT Bus
........14x229Mhz = 1145Mhz HT Bus.......................10.5x305Mhz = 1220Mhz HT Bus
........13.5x238Mhz = 1190Mhz HT Bus
........13x247Mhz = 1235Mhz HT Bus

All the 4x HT combos made the Memory Bus (in Everest) 640-ish...which Windows did not like one bit.
All the 5x HT Combos were mostly stable for me.....max load temp 55C on Zalman 9500a set on full speed.

At 12x 267 i get about 534 DDR freq in CPU-Z...BUT it puts the memory BUS in Everest to 640Mhz-ish which usually hard locks or BSODs immediately. However at 12x267 my HT is 1335Mhz, which definitely dont run nice at all.

Is there a way I can get 12x267and keep the 534-ish DDR freq but still lower the 1335 HT? Running my RAM at 1066 in BIOS, if i use 4x multi HT goes to 1068. I can't remember but i think I cudnt boot windows at that setting lemme try it again real quick.

ghot is offline  
post #7 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
heres 13x247 i think it BSOD's orthos almost immediately lemme check that tho...note the 642 for memory BUS in Everest !!

Yea FATAL Error: rounding....blah blah blah what IS that 642 mem BUS in Everest mean?
DDR freq 1066.....4xHT multi


ghot is offline  
post #8 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
here ponder this too..... note the DDR freq in CPU-Z and the Mem BUS in Everest and the latency speed up in the Everest bench...gets rounding error in Orthos almost immediately though.

If I raised the NB<>SB HT freq a little wuould that bring the 952 HT up to 1000, w/o affecting anything else?


ghot is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 03-25-2008, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I have the NB<>SB HT freq locked at 200 for this screen above...im wondering if the 952 HT link is whats causing the Orthos error? The resason I havent messed with the NB<>SB HT freq is I have NO idea what it affects besides what it seems to be telling me....aka....it gonna speed up JUST the NB<>SB speed. I guess I'm asking if the HT link speed is affected by the NB<>SB HT frequency?

ghot is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 03-26-2008, 08:24 AM
1.3ghz
 
llChaosll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brooklyn, N.Y.
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghot View Post

Is there a way I can get 12x267and keep the 534-ish DDR freq but still lower the 1335 HT? Running my RAM at 1066 in BIOS, if i use 4x multi HT goes to 1068. I can't remember but i think I cudnt boot windows at that setting lemme try it again real quick.
Yes, thats prolly why it BSOD's.
The HT Frequency should be close to 1000 at all times.
The higher you make youre FSB your HT link will go up as well.
Try this, 12 Multi X 267 FSB, then change your HT Multi in bios to 3.
This will give you a HT of 801. The MB could handle a HT of 4 on that setting but put it to 3X instead.
Then try again & see if it doesnt BSOD on you.

Let me know how it works.

llChaosll is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off