Worth While Upgrading to 3500 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 11-21-2005, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
BioHzrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Would it be wiorth while me upgrading to a 3500 as its the only one i can get OEM and the 3700 is over 180 where as 3500 is only 135 so would it be worth me upgrading to the 3500 ? also what speed does it run at 2.4 ?

sozo.gif Scottish Not British ! sozo.gif

BioHzrd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 11-21-2005, 03:09 PM
Never Fast Enough!
 
OC Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHzrd
Would it be wiorth while me upgrading to a 3500 as its the only one i can get OEM and the 3700 is over 180 where as 3500 is only 135 so would it be worth me upgrading to the 3500 ? also what speed does it run at 2.4 ?
The 3500+ runs natively at 2.2 GHz however I would save up and go with a 3700+, the difference is worth it (at least IMHO ). Do you overclock? If so, I'd go with a slower Venice chip like a 3200+ since the 3200+ and 3500+ should have a similar top speed.

If you have questions about Overclock.net, first read the ToS!
I'm not really a newbie btw. Retired from overclocking and this time I mean it! wink.gif
OC Newbie is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 11-21-2005, 05:48 PM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
Which 3500 is it?
A Claw, Winny, NC, Venny or the very rare and unseen SD.
Depending on which one it is the link will tell you what the default speeds/multiplyer/HTT is.

http://encyclopedia.thefreedictionar...icroprocessors

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif

2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

The Duke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 11-22-2005, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
BioHzrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 105
It was a Venice and the 3700 was a SD but it was almost 200 and i want it OEM not retail !

sozo.gif Scottish Not British ! sozo.gif

BioHzrd is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 11-22-2005, 10:29 AM
 
Jazino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 139
where did you see a san diego for almost 200?


Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Jazino is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 11-22-2005, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
BioHzrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Overclockers.co.uk its around 180 but closer to £200 if you round it off

£ not $ mind you

sozo.gif Scottish Not British ! sozo.gif

BioHzrd is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 11-22-2005, 11:19 AM
733mhz
 
bhstech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I would definitely save up, and go for the 3700. The 3700 is nice because of its 1 meg of L2 Cache.
bhstech is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 11-22-2005, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
BioHzrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 105
How much of a performance increase would i see with my current setup with wither of the two ie 3500 and 3700

sozo.gif Scottish Not British ! sozo.gif

BioHzrd is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 11-22-2005, 11:24 AM
733mhz
 
bhstech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHzrd
How much of a performance increase would i see with my current setup with wither of the two ie 3500 and 3700
Well, IMO you would get a little faster in gameplay because the processor you have is probably bottlenecking that 6800gt some.
bhstech is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-22-2005, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
BioHzrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Ok i found it for £160 but the things retail :/ £167 delivered good deal ?

sozo.gif Scottish Not British ! sozo.gif

BioHzrd is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off