Better at stock speeds? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Mr. Mumbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Which of these do you think will perform better at stock speed?

1) 3500+ Winchester 2.2GHz, 512kb of cache, sse sse2

OR

2) Opteron 146 2.0GHz, 1mb if cache, sse sse2 sse3

I'm really not sure...so what do you guys think?

Mr. Mumbles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 02:20 PM
Overclocker
 
accskyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA- Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 196
It depends on what its doing, the 1st one will be good at smaller tasks, the 2nd will beable to do better with larger things.
I'd suggest getting the opteron and overclocking to 2.2 or higher.

accskyman is online now  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 02:20 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: PHX, AZ
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I'd say the opty, b/c of the extra cache.
alan_14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 02:34 PM
4.0ghz
 
jrabb1920's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Mumbles
Which of these do you think will perform better at stock speed?

1) 3500+ Winchester 2.2GHz, 512kb of cache, sse sse2

OR

2) Opteron 146 2.0GHz, 1mb if cache, sse sse2 sse3

I'm really not sure...so what do you guys think?

Number two. more cache and instructions.

jrabb1920 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 02:37 PM
Overclocked
 
Mr.N00bLaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrabb1920
Number two. more cache and instructions.
Well.. I think #2 would be a little bit faster.. but not worth purchasing over your 3500 winnie... Unless you plan you overclock lol.

All overclock, all the time
Mr.N00bLaR is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Mr. Mumbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.N00bLaR
Well.. I think #2 would be a little bit faster.. but not worth purchasing over your 3500 winnie... Unless you plan you overclock lol.
I already have had the opty 146 for a while now..lol

Mr. Mumbles is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 03:32 PM
4.0ghz
 
Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 2,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 222
I say the Opty would be the best.

Quote:
Colin McRae: - "If in doubt, flat out"
Zeus is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 03:35 PM
4.0ghz
 
TrAncE XD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 167
opty bar far... that extra cache is needed somewhat now and soon 512 cache just won't cut it. Opty is also more futureproof due to this. Also why are you staying at stock speeds?!?!? Its called overclock.net for a reason

My sig rig is for sale and I currently use my laptop. Darn schoolz!

TrAncE XD is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 03:38 PM
Resistance is Futile
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta Quadrant
Posts: 3,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 387
The Winchester is old. The Opteron is newer, has sse3, probably a better memory controller and the extra cache, so clock for clock I would say the Opteron over the Winchester. And a mild overclock to 2.2 and the Opteron would definitly perform better than the Winchester.

Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

If you ask a question you don't want an answer to, Expect an answer you don't want to hear.
lonnie5000 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 12-04-2005, 04:10 PM
The Secret Police
 
Transonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 8,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 429
I'd say the 146 barely. The extra cache should make it feel just like a 2.2GHz Winny but, like they said, it's newer, has SSE3, etc. so it's probably gonna be a little better at stock.
Transonic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off