i want just a bit higher oc - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 Old 12-06-2005, 10:09 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
lol max 1.7??? do you want to burn your chip? I'm running 1.55v for 2.9ghz
I think you may just have gotten a bad ocing chip.

Sieg Zeon!

Zeonic_Warrior is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 Old 12-06-2005, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
mudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
i think i got a bad ocing chip too, thats why my voltage is set so high. but my max temps only hit 45c.

i wanna rma this chip, but i don't know if i can or not

mudd is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 12-06-2005, 10:16 AM
4.0ghz
 
danm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Luton, UK
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 78
ive heard that the 3500+ is one of the hardest cpus to OC.....
ive got mine to run just over 2.6 @ 1.65 vcore but the load temp was hitting nearly 50!!
ive got it at 2.575 @ 1.55 vcore and its stable

danm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 Old 12-06-2005, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
mudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
i'm sticking at 2.6 Ghz because my load temps seem pretty reasonable. i haven't hit 50c yet.

mudd is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 12-07-2005, 05:18 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
yeah your load temps are right where they should be. I dont think you can rma the chip because its a bad ocer, and if you try to get it replaced you run the risk of getting an even worse one.
I know it sucks when a chip wont go as far as you really expected it to, but you just need to suck it up and get your next upgrade a bit earlier than you otherwise would, thats what i did at least.

Sieg Zeon!

Zeonic_Warrior is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 12-07-2005, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
mudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
actually i got my neo2 board and another x800xl agp coming in. i'm going to go try to find a 144 opteron w/ good stepping and make myself another box

mudd is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 12-07-2005, 10:31 PM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
yeah that sounds like it will be a much better system.. i had a bad experience with a neo2, but a lot of other ppl seem to have success so good luck!

Sieg Zeon!

Zeonic_Warrior is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off