Opteron Dual Core Under Server Environment - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-03-2006, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
shabushau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hey Guys

How will the opteron 165 dual core processor perform under Server Environment. Primary program will be Server 2003, exchange 2003 and Virtual machine (GSX server).

how will dual intel zeon 2.8 compared to a single opteron 165 dual core under the problems mentioned above?

thanks in advance!
shabushau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-03-2006, 08:04 PM
4.0ghz
 
tytlyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I'm not familiar with the intel zeon chips, but the 165 is an excellent chip. I would have to say the 165 would be the better choice.
The opteron line are designed to work in a server environment, they are server chips.

tytlyf is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-04-2006, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
shabushau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
anyone else have any other experience with this?
shabushau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 01-04-2006, 01:46 PM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
You probably have to take the AMD info on the 165 to the Intel Guys for a comparason. See below
It would be approxamately a Dual Core 3800+ with 2x1024 cache!

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif
The Duke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off