I have 2 Opteron 144s... - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-01-2006, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
stupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 160
I have read through a bunch of threads, and I know they arent the best (like CABYE/CABNE), but I got ahold of 2 brand new opteron 144 CAB2Es. I want to know if the numbers on them make them any different, so I can figure which one to eBay and which one to fire up. They are:

CAB2E 0546UPMW
CAB2E 0548FPEW

Thank you for any input! Cant wait to OC one of these!

"If there is a god, I hope he has a good excuse"

-Woody Allen
stupid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-01-2006, 02:48 PM
Internet Veteran
 
ShawnMcGrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Or grab something along the lines of an Asus K8N-DL and try that?

ShawnMcGrail is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-01-2006, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
stupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 160
I dont think you got my question, I already have a mobo, I am asking about the processors...

"If there is a god, I hope he has a good excuse"

-Woody Allen
stupid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 02-01-2006, 02:57 PM
Internet Veteran
 
ShawnMcGrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 356
I know man, I was just kidding around.

I'd keep the CAB2E 0546UPMW, Googling around I'm seeing between 2.5-2.8Ghz mostly, and for the other... Well... I couldn't really find anything...

ShawnMcGrail is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-01-2006, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
stupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 160
thanks! I am putting the other one up on the mighty eBay!

"If there is a god, I hope he has a good excuse"

-Woody Allen
stupid is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-01-2006, 03:38 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Highland IL
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Since you say you already have a system and trying to figure out which one is better I personally would put each one in and do so normal testing and O/C if that is what you are going to do with the CPU and see which one runs better in your system...

As a couple of years I ago I used to do a lot of O/Cing with the amd 2400+ 35w mobile cpu and I would order 3 at a time and do testings on each one and several times I would get the same steppings and release dates on each on and would still find that one would O/C better than the other...even though they were identical...also found a couple that I had ordered that were not supposed to be good O/Cers but ended up being much better than rated....

So like I said I would personally try each one out and do some stress tests...Also just because there is not any or very much info out there on the other CPU doesn't mean it might no be the bigger O/C cpu of the 2...

You might be selling the better of the 2 unless you try them out or wait for more replies....and more research...

MGE RED/Black Viper Case
Abit AV8 3rd Eye
AMD64 4000+ Clawhammer @26c idle 35c load
Thermalright XP90c with Enermax Fan
PDP 2x512 (1GIG) 2,2,2,5 1t w/xbl technology
ATI Sapphire x850xt Platinum AGP
2x160gb HDD (Western Digital)

brad62249 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off