AMD 64 FX 57 Overclocking ? - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 32 Old 02-07-2006, 11:32 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
did you run memtest on your ram to make sure that it wasn't holding you back? Also, you may have to increase the vcore another notch or two, just make sure your load temps don't exceed 50*C.

erauman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 32 Old 02-08-2006, 07:10 PM
Retired Staff
 
ncsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 657
Nice CPU...

There are a few BIOS for the A8N32, which one are you running?

Testing for Max CPU speed is the best thing to do, as you have now started, then you will be able to work the mem in later on.

The 1Gb modules will OC better with timings of 3-3-3-8, with Vdimm of 2.8-2.9v.

Any CPU @ 3.0 or higher suffers from temp be this at stock Vcore or not, adding Vcore will compand the temp prob. so while the objective is to get to 3.2 on air it will take you time and prob. not be stable. Is 3.0 stable? then go up in smaller steps.

Better cooling will take you further.

GL

Quote:
Originally Posted by vicoorr
222mhz
14x
1:1
2.5.3.3.7
vcore-1.535
httx4
Im at 3.1 and i cant seem to push to 3.2 without freezing up or crashing, can someone please healp..

ncsa is offline  
post #13 of 32 Old 02-08-2006, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
vicoorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CALIFORNIA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Im running bios 1009 and yes its stable at 3.0 but anything above that fails prime95 if i use a 1:1 divider on the mem :/ , and what kind of cooling are your suggesting ?
vicoorr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 32 Old 02-08-2006, 11:24 PM
Now Available in Orange
 
Fishie36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 8,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicoorr
Im running bios 1009 and yes its stable at 3.0 but anything above that fails prime95 if i use a 1:1 divider on the mem :/ , and what kind of cooling are your suggesting ?
So then it's a problem with your memory and not the CPU. Either use a higher cpu multi and lower FSB, loosen ram timings, or raise ram voltage.

Fishie36 is offline  
post #15 of 32 Old 02-08-2006, 11:40 PM
 
Rejectcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: va
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
YOU CAN DO IT! , you can do it all night long (prime95)

Quote:
HaIrStOn 630: did u ever play halflife ep 2?, Rejectcase: still working on it lol / HaIrStOn 630: u even started it yet? Rejectcase: nopes - suxor though, ive been social gaming, too much online cs:s, bf2, lostplanet. lol Rejectcase: h311, internet went out and i forgot that i could play games on teh computer without having to connect to a server. HaIrStOn 630:ROFLMAO OMG!! its like O SNAP I can play teh gamz while my internetzz is stolzend!one11
Rejectcase is offline  
post #16 of 32 Old 02-08-2006, 11:44 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
vicoorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CALIFORNIA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
vicoorr is offline  
post #17 of 32 Old 02-12-2006, 07:27 PM
Retired Staff
 
ncsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 657
Run through the BIOS and turn off anything that is not in use or needed... esp. Cool'n,Quiet, NIC cards, IEEE, serial ports etc...

Any AMD chip running 3.0+ will be generating a lot of heat so good cooling is essential hence moving to a non-air solution will help you out more and allow for a potential higher OC.

If the CPU is stable over 3.0 with mem at DDR400 or less then it is mem casuing the issue but if it is not then look at cooling and Vcore.

EDIT:

Also look at chipset drivers ... 6.70 or later and 81.95 or later for GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by vicoorr
Im running bios 1009 and yes its stable at 3.0 but anything above that fails prime95 if i use a 1:1 divider on the mem :/ , and what kind of cooling are your suggesting ?

ncsa is offline  
post #18 of 32 Old 02-12-2006, 11:23 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
vicoorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CALIFORNIA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My cpu idles around 33-34 and loads around 42-45 during gameplay...so i think i got good enough temps to go higher . Im starting to think my ram aint good enough to keep up .
vicoorr is offline  
post #19 of 32 Old 02-12-2006, 11:32 PM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicoorr
My cpu idles around 33-34 and loads around 42-45 during gameplay...so i think i got good enough temps to go higher . Im starting to think my ram aint good enough to keep up .
Set your ram to 333 in the bios, ram will come out 196.(cant rember exactly) but will be just under 200/400 effective

and do 250x12=3000 HTTx4=1000

you can use super Pi Link to check your ram stabilty if you dont like to use memtest x86

If your new to Overclock.net Please fill out your System Specs Under User CP, It makes it easier to help you.

AMD overclockers guide
Intel Overclockers guide
Loki is offline  
post #20 of 32 Old 02-13-2006, 12:11 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
vicoorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CALIFORNIA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
[IMG][/IMG]
I lowerd it down for my match tonight but i just did some test to see what u guys think, i obviously dont understand super pi and all the other stuff just yet lol .
vicoorr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off