Thinking about building an AMD - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-31-2006, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
korndog2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Keyser, WV USA
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Yes I Said AMD!
LOL I have been known in the past to down AMDS But I guess I should try one before I down one...
Please List Some Good Components MAX To Be Spent $1000. The Reason I am asking because I don't know that much about AMD. The only AMD I used was a Semperon 3000+ and it was slow... Also I want a board with DDR2 5300 or 5400. Thanks A Million
korndog2003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-31-2006, 05:07 PM
CarForum.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: /dev/sda
Posts: 7,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136157
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106014
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144416
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817709004
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150140
990$ for a solid, greatly overclockable system with good gaming possibilities.
BFG_Creed likes this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chat
catmmm: my rack would love to play with your rack...
lhowatt: does it fit well on your desk?
catmmm: lhowatt: yeah it fits
catmmm: lhowatt: I kinda have a big desk though
Retrospekt is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-31-2006, 06:17 PM
1.7ghz
 
Bys0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Depending on what the pc is for of course..........My last 3 builds have been AMD but all my builds are around gaming. AMD even though they arent pushing the speeds of Intel still hold there own and in someways excel way past the intel performance, the AMD platform is solid and very playable which keeps the possibilities quite open ended. AMD dual cores excel past intels in all sorts of ways but in turn are also not on the cheap side..........for an AMD single core i would recommend the AMD64 3700 simply for its 1Mb cache.......but thats a gamers point of view, its down to personal preference really

Bys0n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 03-31-2006, 06:21 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Seattle,Washington
Posts: 14,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
Quote:
Originally Posted by korndog2003
Yes I Said AMD!
LOL I have been known in the past to down AMDS But I guess I should try one before I down one...
Please List Some Good Components MAX To Be Spent $1000. The Reason I am asking because I don't know that much about AMD. The only AMD I used was a Semperon 3000+ and it was slow... Also I want a board with DDR2 5300 or 5400. Thanks A Million
If you want AMD and DDR2, you're gonna have to wait until June 6th.

Comp #2: Intel 2500k, GTX480, MSI P67AGD55, 4gb G Skill, X-Fi XtremeMusic,Logitech Z5500, 24" Gateway LCD, Antec P180,3 striped 36gb Raptors + 1 500gb, Hyper 212+, Corsair 520HX.

Comp #3:Intel 2500k, GTX480, MSI P67AGD55 , 4gb G Skill, Antec 650W, Logitech 560 4.1, 24" Acer LCD, Chenming MidTower, Liteon DVDRW, 74gb Raptor + 500 gb, Hyper 212+, Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer.

Comp #4: Intel 2500k, MSI 6950 2gb, Asus P8P67A, 4gb G. Skill, 22" Acer LCD,Raptor 150, Hyper 212+, Logitech 530, Antec P180, Antec TruePower 650w,Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic,Liteon DVDRW
sccr64472 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-31-2006, 10:47 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by korndog2003
Yes I Said AMD!
LOL I have been known in the past to down AMDS But I guess I should try one before I down one...
Please List Some Good Components MAX To Be Spent $1000. The Reason I am asking because I don't know that much about AMD. The only AMD I used was a Semperon 3000+ and it was slow... Also I want a board with DDR2 5300 or 5400. Thanks A Million
Not only can you not get an AMD board with DDR2 667 you would not want to if you could. DDR2 667 is equivalent to DDR 400 in terms of performance. If you do go AMD, and it would be a great choice, you could get some DDR 500 or DDR 550 memory that would blow away DDR2 667.

Concur with others, go with the AMD Athlon 64 San Diego 3700+ or another option would be the socket 939 Opteron line. The Opteron 144, 146, and 148 are great processors. You can not beat the overclocking options of a DFI Motherboard. The one in my signature is superb and the SLI version is just as good.

You are a special, unique individual... just like everybody else.
euphoricmix is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off