Opteron 146 cacje, what should i expect? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 04-01-2006, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
hednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 149
hmm well im going ot replace my ram and processor as they seem to be holding me back. Tankguys has the 146 with 0604 or 0605 stepping on sale and im hinking of going with that. Most google searches ive done show 2.8 or 2.9. I know the old cabne and cabye and cab2e were better but could i expect very close to those results with my mobo and some ddr500 ram?

Quote:
Vision is not what we see with out eyes but rather what we sense with our souls


The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist....
hednik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 04-02-2006, 12:07 AM
4.0ghz
 
not2bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Don't set you're expectation too high or you might be disappointed. Just expect at least 2.6 easily and if you're lucky, more. 2.8 or 2.9 is very possible though.


Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

not2bad is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 04-02-2006, 12:19 AM
Ooooohh
 
lightsource's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 4,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by not2bad
Don't set you're expectation too high or you might be disappointed. Just expect at least 2.6 easily and if you're lucky, more. 2.8 or 2.9 is very possible though.
I'm with not2bad.

Don't expect 3.0, you MAY get it, you MAY not.

The first few months of Opteron Craze, there were a few really good steppings, and after a month or so... They started drifting and no-one really pays attention, but knows they can get decent overclocks. Opteron's are like the new 3000+ Venices.


lightsource is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 04-02-2006, 12:23 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
hednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 149
im just a bit disappointed with my 3500+ its isnt to fun of an ocer, i dont game much just like to tweak my comp . Ive seen several post on a few boards with the new stepping in the past week getting 2.8 quite easily. I really looking at the cahce upgrade and gettting something better than a 22% oc

Quote:
Vision is not what we see with out eyes but rather what we sense with our souls


The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist....
hednik is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 04-02-2006, 12:26 AM
Ooooohh
 
lightsource's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 4,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Yea, I understand.

Why don't you just save your money for a Conroe? or an AMD Socket AM2 CPU???


lightsource is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-10-2006, 03:41 AM
Commodore 64
 
v@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well, I got my CACJE stable running at 3 ghz, no probs, even with value ram. And it seems to be able to go more, I just want to check the validity of the temperatures (35 seems tooo low for air cooling)

And if it helps, it is the second CACJE that i ve tried at those speeds, however the first wasnt that stable... As the folks said, no guarantees

v@ss is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-10-2006, 03:46 AM
4.0ghz
 
markuk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NORWICH UK
Posts: 1,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 114
My 146 cacje 0604 was only stable to 2.9 so expect 2.9 or under to be possible but every core is different it will still be pot luck

markuk3 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 04-10-2006, 05:52 AM
Filmmaker
 
Inquisitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Marigny, New Orleans, LA
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Here is the deal with opterons from my own experience:

You will be able to overclock to around 2.8 on low voltage.

When you hit a wall, it will be a very very thick wall to break.

If you want more than that initial 2.8, it will require a TON of voltage.. I just hit 3.0 in no way stable but to run firefox, and that took 1.65v.

If you have extremely nice cooling ie: pelt or better, you may be able to attain 3.0.
Inquisitor is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-10-2006, 01:18 PM
Commodore 64
 
v@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inquisitor
Here is the deal with opterons from my own experience:

You will be able to overclock to around 2.8 on low voltage.
...which is a very decent overclock, no? considering it performs like a CPU 4 times more expensive...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inquisitor
When you hit a wall, it will be a very very thick wall to break.

If you want more than that initial 2.8, it will require a TON of voltage.. I just hit 3.0 in no way stable but to run firefox, and that took 1.65v.

If you have extremely nice cooling ie: pelt or better, you may be able to attain 3.0.
I cant argue the wall thing, but when it comes to voltages and cooling, some people have had more luck. i ve seen two 146s, including mine, that reached 3GHz with air cooling and no more than 1.45V. You ve done it Inquisitor, yet you re very sceptical. Why ?

v@ss is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 04-13-2006, 11:25 AM
 
rippon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
There is a Op. 146 CABYE on ebay I am looking at, is that a good stepping? What do you think is a 'good' price for it?

I'll be on my new website: Robotics News

rippon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off