Uhh k, I got my cpu to overclock! - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
RickJS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
I made like 2 threads before about how I couldnt get my computer to boot when I set the FSB higher than 220. I went in to my memory configurations and set the DRAM Frequency set to 180. Yay, I'm now at 2.4! Should I try to go higher?
RickJS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 08:33 PM
4.0ghz
 
Xerasyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ambridge, PA
Posts: 1,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Send a message via MSN to Xerasyte Send a message via Yahoo to Xerasyte
If you think you can w/o screwing up your cpu then go for it. Up to you really

Quote:
Originally Posted by Modki go_quote.gif
Haha cry more.
I want you all to cry into a small tupperware container and send it to me. I will keep them all in a nice big box labeled "people who cry about Windows" it's a very large box filling up fast. Once it's full me and Bill Gates will make Sorrowful Beer with it and enjoy it's bittersweet taste.
Dance little tin goddess, dance.
Gott ist tot.
Xerasyte is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 08:42 PM
krunks bad at pc's
 
bigvaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 13,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 898
You should be able to go much higher with that CPU. Most 3700 san diegos do 3ghz without any problems. You wont screw it up. If your computer doesnt boot then just clear the CMOS.

FOLD FOR OCN - TEAM 37726
OC Settings: 4800mhz 100x48, 1.4500 vcore, 1600mhz Mem 9-9-9-24, 1200/1600 GPU @ 1.26v.
bigvaL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 08:46 PM
PC Gamer
 
Ropey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Set your dram to 166, set your HT Multiplier to 3 X (600MHz) and raise your FSB. You might have to raise your CPU voltage after some time.

R
Ropey is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
RickJS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Jesus 3 GHZ!?!?!?!? I know its up to me, but I just wannna be careful and get advice from the smarter people.
RickJS is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 09:11 PM
(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧·★゜・。☆゜。 ・゚
 
CyberDruid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blue Ridge Mts., Virginia
Posts: 23,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2585
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickJS
Jesus 3 GHZ!?!?!?!? I know its up to me, but I just wannna be careful and get advice from the smarter people.
Well not too sure about Big Val, but Ropey is smart as a whip...

August 13th, 2011 sad-smiley-002.gif Happy trails, may we meet again.


CyberDruidPC is History
CyberDruid is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
RickJS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
=oooook

I know you're smart!

http://www.overclock.net/faqs/70889-...rformance.html

That proves it!!
RickJS is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 09:25 PM
4.0ghz
 
jrabb1920's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 471
What kind of cooling are you using, keep your load temps below 50c. under load.

Heres a guide to help you.

http://www.overclock.net/faqs/31782-...pu-memory.html

jrabb1920 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
RickJS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Stock cooling, until my dad helps me out. Which might be never because he wants to keep his rig up with mine.(sucks, because the only reason i wanted a better rig was to keep up with his)
RickJS is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-23-2006, 09:37 PM
4.0ghz
 
jrabb1920's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Well with proper cooling you should beable to get 2.8ghz to 3.0ghz so its something to look forward too.

Also you might want to look into getting a better power supply.

jrabb1920 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off