CPU 50 Degrees Celsius, And Fan At Maximum, What To Do? - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 23 Old 10-08-2006, 10:03 AM
Moderator
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 28,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
My Sempy 2400+ Socket A goes ~54c on a "SmartCooler" heatsink under load.

*EDIT*

Vcore is 1.65
gonX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 Old 10-08-2006, 10:11 AM
The CanAsian
 
UberN00B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 5,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 344
agreed, You do need better airflow (when the case is closed) BUT you are probably working in a small room, because with your case open, you should get better temps...... Id suggest you get one of those portable fans and keep it pushing air into your case at this point, and yes, still a better aftermarket cooler. I tried doing this about a month ago, and my temps decreased by 10C! it was absolutely amazing. =)

On a budget Build? See my FAQ!!
http://www.overclock.net/faqs/36946-...-system-i.html

UPDATED MARCH 5th 07'

NEW! Overclock.net Ping boosted CS:S Server - overclock.nuclearfallout.net:27015

UberN00B is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 10-08-2006, 10:51 AM
4.0ghz
 
PGT96AJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I'd reccomend a Thermaltake Big Typhoon for a CPU heatsink, but unfortunatley it looks like your motherboard does not have the necessary mounting holes for one.
PGT96AJT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 23 Old 10-08-2006, 11:00 AM
Old School
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1522
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberN00B
o_O WHAT?
The max temp you would generally want to keep your barton under is 55c, and no higher! Dont believe people that say 65, because thats WAYY too hot! id suggest an aftermarket cooler such as a Big Typhoon (lapped), as it will drop your temps by 10-15c, easily w/ Artic Silver 5.
Mine runs 62c after 8 hours of load. No problems at all, none, nada. Been like that for over a year.
Acoma_Andy is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 10-08-2006, 06:17 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Mine runs at 53c on Load, and has been for past year and half. The PC is on ALL DAY ALL NIGHT too. No problems. Once I didn't seat the HSF properly and it was running solid at 59c for 2 weeks before I checked and sorted it. I think the AthlonXPs are made to run at those high temps.

cause_of_chaos

cause_of_chaos is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 10-09-2006, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
First of all, thanks for the help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishie36
  1. Clean all the dust out of the heatsink and fan blades
  2. Get some better thermal paste
I took the fan off, cleaned it and got some AS5 thermal paste on.
Now it's -5C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by drummer4lifex
What's the stock vcore on that chip, like 1.6v?
It's 1.6. Don't mind the red circle.
http://www.imagedump.com/pics/465484.jpg
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberN00B
get one of those portable fans and keep it pushing air into your case at this point
Does it make a difference or is the temperature in the CPU core the same?
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGT96AJT
I'd reccomend a Thermaltake Big Typhoon for a CPU heatsink, but unfortunatley it looks like your motherboard does not have the necessary mounting holes for one.
I checked, it says it works with socket A.

Im thinking somewhat about buying a new cooler because they cost as much as a new CPU.
Anyway, I may be updating to a socket 939 or AM2 system.
That would make buying a new cooler waste of money.

What operating system are Athlon 64 users normally using, Windows x64?

CIAagent11 is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 10-09-2006, 02:04 PM
Back From The Dead
 
Namrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 10,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Most good coolers (like the Big Typhoon) are compatible with different sockets.

20110813 - RIP

Take me out into the black, tell them I ain't coming back.
Burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me.
Namrac is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 10-09-2006, 02:06 PM
4.0ghz
 
drummer4lifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Many coolers support socket A, 939, and AM2, so I would get a decent one that supports all three sockets. XP x64 isn't worth the time/money. Most Athlon64 users use XP or Linux (which I highly reccomend).

Signatures are overrated.
drummer4lifex is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 10-09-2006, 02:08 PM
4.0ghz
 
Squeeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
50C is fine for barton under load. Get an akasa heatsink with an 80mm fan mounting on top and get yourself a tornado fan and controller. i get 35 Load on my athlon xp 2500+ at 2.2ghz 1.65V
Squeeky is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 10-09-2006, 02:08 PM
4.0ghz
 
PGT96AJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namrac
Most good coolers (like the Big Typhoon) are compatible with different sockets.
unfortunately for the BT to work with skt A, it needs mounting holes around the socket because it does not attach directly to stock mounting bracket. and it appears that his board as well as many other skt A boards dont have the required holes.
PGT96AJT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off