First attempt at overclocking my 3500+ venice - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
After using this guide: http://www.overclock.net/faqs/31782-...pu-memory.html i decided to take a stab at overclocking my pc.

i got these results


this is after i got:
325 as my max htt on the mobo
2695 mhz as my max cpu clock
231 as my max fsb for the ram

i'm using an a8n-sli deluxe mobo, ultra 600w psu, and 2 sticks of kingston infineon ram and 2 sticks of corsair ram at a timing of 2.5-3-3-7

what can i do to get my o/c up to a stable 2.7ghz as i've heard that this is possible on air?

spark plugs. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:27 AM
I have many leatherbound books
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Well I'm no AMD guy, but if one were here, I bet they would suggest to get rid of your 4x512mb RAM and go for 2x1gb as AMD's mem controllers don't like 4 sticks...

But just wait for one of them
kidwolf909 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidwolf909
Well I'm no AMD guy, but if one were here, I bet they would suggest to get rid of your 4x512mb RAM and go for 2x1gb as AMD's mem controllers don't like 4 sticks...

But just wait for one of them
i'm VERY noob to overclocking, so is it safe to assume that a 231 max fsb is pretty crappy for my memory?

spark plugs. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:34 AM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
That is a good OC for low end memory so I'd say you have some of the good stuff!

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif
The Duke is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:36 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Coast UK
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi matey.

I'm no expert, by any means, but I'm pretty sure the CPU will go to 2700....

I've been making enquiries about memory, and everyone is advising me to get 2Gb of 2 sticks, for the dual channel purposes.

Bloody good score, my highest with my system so far is 5725

MSI_andy is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:37 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Coast UK
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plugs.
i'm VERY noob to overclocking, so is it safe to assume that a 231 max fsb is pretty crappy for my memory?
Well I'd say yes,
but then I know about as much as you

2Gb of 2 sticks would sort you right out, but then compare my score to yours......

You must be doing something right

MSI_andy is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Duke
That is a good OC for low end memory so I'd say you have some of the good stuff!
if i were to switch out the memory to maybe 2gb (2x1gb) of g.skill ram, do you think i would be able to up my memory fsb and maybe raise my multi or divider to get a higher oc?

spark plugs. is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSI_andy
Hi matey.

I'm no expert, by any means, but I'm pretty sure the CPU will go to 2700....

I've been making enquiries about memory, and everyone is advising me to get 2Gb of 2 sticks, for the dual channel purposes.

Bloody good score, my highest with my system so far is 5725
my score was pretty crappy until i got my 7900gto and overclocked it a bit...it really is a damned good card.

spark plugs. is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSI_andy
Well I'd say yes,
but then I know about as much as you

2Gb of 2 sticks would sort you right out, but then compare my score to yours......

You must be doing something right
i didn't even know if my scores were that great anyway.

spark plugs. is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-29-2006, 09:44 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Coast UK
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plugs.
i didn't even know if my scores were that great anyway.

Like me, comparing our systems give you a clue

(I'm jealous....)

MSI_andy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off