Lapping vs. IHS Removal - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Dock #89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Title says all, which should I do? (P.S. I plan on doing this to my 3200 Venice and a 3700 SD that I want to get.)

By the way, are they going to solder on all IHS's from now on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eska
all i see is a stupid chip that i dont have
Dock #89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 04:09 PM
Freeze It
 
MADMAX22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 7,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 582
depends on what you wanna do, youll get better temps with ihs removal but its far riskier and youll have to mod your hsf a bit to get it to fit right

they are both pretty easy to do, but if you dont have the cash to replace a broken cpu i would just lap it and call it good
Dock #89 likes this.

E6400@3856E4300@4158E6600@4510,Opti148@3102,opti170@2918,UD3P&9550@4692
UD3P&84005304,UD3p&85005567


4 Million+ Folding at Home points 

MADMAX22 is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Dock #89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
That is what I'm considering, but really, I am wondering if AMD used a different paste/thermal conductor between the core and the IHS, would there be a difference at all?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eska
all i see is a stupid chip that i dont have
Dock #89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 04:15 PM
The CanAsian
 
UberN00B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 5,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Why not do both? and no, they havnt changed anything.

On a budget Build? See my FAQ!!
http://www.overclock.net/faqs/36946-...-system-i.html

UPDATED MARCH 5th 07'

NEW! Overclock.net Ping boosted CS:S Server - overclock.nuclearfallout.net:27015

UberN00B is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 04:16 PM
4.0ghz
 
born2killU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 3,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 166
If you take off the IHS dont replace it with AS5

that is a waste of time

take off the IHS and run it without it

BTW what heatsink do you have

you cant run it with no IHS on the stock heatsink unfortunately
Dock #89 likes this.
born2killU is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 185
they just have some generic paste in there...it's white...
Dock #89 likes this.
dotcomthese is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Dock #89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberN00B View Post
Why not do both? and no, they havnt changed anything.
Sorry for the bad wording, I meant, what if they changed the product they use right now with something different (or better.)

I am going to use a Big Typhoon VX (diferent mounting system from the original BT kind of scares me), but I am starting to think I will just lap both the IHS and the BT instead of removing the IHS; for ease of mind really.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eska
all i see is a stupid chip that i dont have
Dock #89 is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 11:11 PM
4.0ghz
 
mudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
i'm running naked and its dropped my load temps at 3 ghz from 56c to 44c and my big typhoon is lapped and polished.

mudd is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 11:18 PM
listen
 
d3daiM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 7,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 497
I believe what I will be doing will be the absolute extremest way to keep my temps down, without phase or TECs

I will be watercooling with a swiftech apogee, I will lap the apogee, I will be removing the IHS of my sandy, and I will be using Coolaboratory Liquid Pro thermal compound
d3daiM is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 11-10-2006, 11:19 PM
Multi-Quote King
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 845
Removing my IHS raised my temps about 3C, but i think that's because my HS clips on (you can still jiggle it or twist it a little when it's clipped in). I'd say remove the IHS if you have a HS that screws in or solidly clamps onto a bracket.

I lapped my IHS, though, and it gave me good results, about 3C drop. Plus, since i had removed my IHS i got to replace the crap that they had in between for stock (they missed like half of the damn core). The IHS was also very concave, as was the stock HSF (took me about 3 hours to get it flat).

"I just talk the way I see things... If that's offensive to you... I'm sorry; you're a loser." - Michael Savage

"But you would be amazed by how many people think that the only reason to have a computer is to play games, and that playing games is all that anyone with a computer does." - dangerousHobo
The Hundred Gunner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off