New to OC - need guidance please - Phenom II X4 940 / M4N72-E - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-03-2012, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
 
zk6760's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi OC.net

This will be my first OC attempt and I'm not sure I have all the information that I need to do the job. Ultimately I would like to get my CPU from 3.0 to 3.6 (reading has led me to believe this is the best stability/performance/efficiency choice on my CPU - not to mention I'm not liquid cooled)

CPU = AMD Phenom II X4 940
Mainboard = Asus M4N72-E
GPU = GTX560 TI (SLI)
RAM = 8GB
OS = Windows 7 x64
Heatsink = Cooler Master GeminII S524


At first I thought all I would need to do is adjust my CPU Multiplier enough times to get my core speed up to 3600MHz, but then I started coming across lots of terms like FSB Clock, DRAM Frequency, NB Frequency, CPU Voltage (reading suggests I move this to 1.5V), and CPU/NB Voltage.

I'm not looking for an "as high as you can go clock" - just something to get my CPU speed out of the weeds. Whenever I play BF3 all 4 cores run @ 95%+ and things are starting to get tough to play (Planetside 2, Far Cry 3 as well I can imagine). This is why I settled on the 3.6GHz - hoping that this is an "easy enough" overclock that my new heatsink (above) will be able to keep cool enough as well.

Can anyone walk me through the steps on what I need to manually set in my BIOS? Do I need to tweak all the things I listed above, more - and to what do I change them to?

Let me know if I can provide any further information.

Thanks so much,
zk6760
zk6760 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-03-2012, 10:40 AM
Fan Man
 
l0max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
your default cpu multiplier should be 15.
200mhz FSB * 15 cpu multiplier = 3Ghz

simply increase that cpu multi value to 18.
200mhz * 18 = 3.6Ghz

get a stability testing program eg. Intel burn test or OCCT to test if your overclock is stable. also get hwmonitor to check your temperatures. if your overclock is unstable boost your cpu voltage, but don't go over 1.5v for safety.

look here for a comprehensive guide.

Welcome to OCN biggrin.gif

Chimp Challenge Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

l0max is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-03-2012, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
 
zk6760's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for not flaming me - I did a quick search but became lost quickly. There are a LOT of sub-forums here.

Thank you very much for the quick reply and the link!!!

I'll read through and post up if I have any more questions smile.gif
zk6760 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 12-03-2012, 10:52 PM
Overclocker
 
mongen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
similar setup here, minus the SLI. Yeh, the CPU may struggle with two GTX560s. As said, read the guides first and up the cpu multi to start with. Then have a look at upping the NB to at least 2.4GHz - that will make a noticeable difference.

When you become comfortable with the bios and OCing, you can look at messing around with the FSB. I played with it for months, but couldn't be bothered in the end as sleep wouldn't work. 3.4GHz works well with one 6950 as it is.
mongen is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-05-2012, 04:16 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
eTernalPulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GB - Nottinghamshire
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ive just finished my first Overclocking venture on my Phenom II x6.
i kept a little log here
my last 2 comments at the bottom may offer a little information. and the rest where I went through learning.

eTernalPulse is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-06-2013, 04:49 PM
 
PaPaBlista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Kentucky
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Nice rig, What PSU are you running seem's to me that box should run BF3 pretty good, remind me isn't the 940 a black ed.

Puter say's noquestionmark.gif
There’s nothing to fear. Except maybe that weird guy over there.oneeyedsmiley02.png


(͠≖ ͜ʖ͠≖)? << I am that weird guy over there....
PaPaBlista is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-06-2013, 04:52 PM
 
PaPaBlista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Kentucky
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaPaBlista View Post

Nice rig, What PSU are you running seem's to me that box should run BF3 pretty good, remind me isn't the 940 a black ed.

I could be thinking of a 920 'IDK'

Puter say's noquestionmark.gif
There’s nothing to fear. Except maybe that weird guy over there.oneeyedsmiley02.png


(͠≖ ͜ʖ͠≖)? << I am that weird guy over there....
PaPaBlista is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-06-2013, 06:50 PM
Overclocker
 
mongen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
940 sure is BE, OC is a breeze.
mongen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off