Help, PC won't boot - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 20 Old 12-24-2006, 04:19 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 2,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Here is something that helped me with the exact same problem.

Start off by making sure all your hookups are plugged in
atx+12v+ any other connector

now unplug it from the wall or turn the switch off.

Take all your ram out and put one in the main slot (some it's the 3rd one up)

take your cmos battery out

Hold your power button down for 1min to drain any power left in the board

set it to bios jumper to clear, and wait

after 30min-24hours put your battery back in and move the jumper back into its normal spot

plug in a PS2 keyboard (No a USB one will not work) and hold insert down.

Plug in your PSU

Turn it on and see.
Monkmachine likes this.
PaRaDoX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 Old 12-24-2006, 04:58 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Monkmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Right I've change the mobo and now its sorta working, keep getting blue screen of death evertime I boot into windows, something about irq driver. I think I will be able to get somewhere now!!! I'll post back any updates or if I get stuck with a problem. Thanks Guys!!!
Monkmachine is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 12-24-2006, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Monkmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 157
All back to normal! I've lost my overclock but at least I've got my PC back!
Monkmachine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 20 Old 12-24-2006, 07:35 AM
4.0ghz
 
johnnys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 43515
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Wtg
johnnys is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 12-24-2006, 07:54 AM
I intend to live forever. So far, so good.
 
Sin100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 10,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
so it was they motherboard ey, still no idea why the mobo fried? or isnt working?
Sin100 is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 12-24-2006, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Monkmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 157
No idea why it fried but at least I'm back, now I just need to buy a better mobo. I'm running a Foxconn mobo which is crap for o/c
Monkmachine is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 12-24-2006, 11:10 AM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
Still, I'd give the PS a serious look, check the voltages with the system under full load for about an hour.

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif
The Duke is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 12-25-2006, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Monkmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Duke View Post
Still, I'd give the PS a serious look, check the voltages with the system under full load for about an hour.
I was a bit worried about the PSU, I might get a new one and a new mobo.
Monkmachine is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 12-25-2006, 10:28 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
ThePenguinator.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Henrico, Virginia
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I have a good feeling it is either your Motherboard, or your powersupply, since I have suffered from having both problem in the past, either bad luck, or parts getting old, I would say those two are the one's I would focus on the most, try and borrow a powersupply from someone, or if that is not possible, go to a computer store, and get them to test it for you.

ThePenguinator. is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 12-25-2006, 10:48 AM
2.4ghz
 
eagles051387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkmachine View Post
No idea why it fried but at least I'm back, now I just need to buy a better mobo. I'm running a Foxconn mobo which is crap for o/c

the reason ur mobo probably fried was due to a spike in the electricity. not all surge protectors protect against them and they r undetectable. it is actually worth spending the money on a surge protector or ups that protects against energy spikes.
eagles051387 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off