good build for asus m4a78t-e - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-16-2013, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
 
vetsieken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/M4A78TE/

I got this MB from a friend, since it holds up to 6core cpu's this will have to do for my new gamepc
Now i have another friend that is selling his phenom x4 3.2 am3+ socket

I've checked the cpusupport list => no am3+ cpu's in there but it has a x4 3.2 in it... (cpumodelname unreadable on cpu)
will this cpu work with the mb? (it has to come by post so no need to risk harming it and spending money on sending and packing if nor usefull biggrin.gif )

planned other stuff

6gig DDR3 1600 (3x2)
Radeon HD4770 (512DDR5) => hybrid crossfire to 670 => to be upgraded 2
Sata => to be updated 2 SSD

what powersuply should i put in? got a 350 lying around but wus thinking more about 650..? (unless not needed)



and again an overclockable MB... biggrin.gif but lets first build the lady rolleyes.gif
vetsieken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-16-2013, 03:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
WizardontheJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 'Murica!
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 198
http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/list.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&m=m4a78t-e - Compatible CPU list. If it's not on this list, I wouldnt use it. Also, I didnt see anything about this supporting 6 core CPU's. As a matter of fact, I dont think there are any 6 core AM3 chips at all.

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp - Power supply wattage calculator. Remember, you dont want just enough power (plan ahead, are you ever going to crossfire?) and you dont want just any manufacturer. Good ones are Seasonic, Antec and Enermax (My favs anyway).

If you're going to dump on someone's ideas, at least have some good ones of your own.
WizardontheJob is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-16-2013, 03:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizardonthejob View Post

http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/list.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&m=m4a78t-e - Compatible CPU list. If it's not on this list, I wouldnt use it. Also, I didnt see anything about this supporting 6 core CPU's. As a matter of fact, I dont think there are any 6 core AM3 chips at all.

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp - Power supply wattage calculator. Remember, you dont want just enough power (plan ahead, are you ever going to crossfire?) and you dont want just any manufacturer. Good ones are Seasonic, Antec and Enermax (My favs anyway).

They're on the list.




Phenom IIX6 1035T(HDT35TWFK6DGR),2.6GHz,95W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL
3303

Phenom IIX6 1045T(HDT45TWFK6DGR),2.7GHz,95W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL
3406

Phenom IIX6 1055T(HDT55TFBK6DGR),2.8GHz,125W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL
3303

Phenom IIX6 1055T(HDT55TWFK6DGR),2.8GHz,125W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL
3303

Phenom IIX6 1065T(HDT65TWFK6DGR),2.9GHz,95W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL
3406

Phenom IIX6 1075T(HDT75TFBK6DGR),3.0GHz,125W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core

Phenom IIX6 1090T(HDT90ZFBK6DGR),3.2GHz,125W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL
3303

Phenom IIX6 1100T(HDE00ZFBK6DGR),3.3GHz,125W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL
3406
boot318 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 09-16-2013, 03:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
WizardontheJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 'Murica!
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Well silly me. I should learn to read gooder. Everything else I said still stands. Stick with the list, plan ahead. Use good vendors.

If you're going to dump on someone's ideas, at least have some good ones of your own.
WizardontheJob is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-16-2013, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
 
vetsieken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK thnx alot, i wus thinking maybe the cpu support list wus made before am3+ wus made and backward compatibility was used as with am2/am2+
I read something bout all am3+ working after setting adjust but loosing some ability....
dunno just gonna listen to you guys biggrin.gif (or maybe send email 2 amd for it caus am3 chips are hard to find in belgium at a good price)

thnx for the powerplanner really usefull stuff smile.gif

and indeed x6 exists but cheapest i found wus bout 300€ retailprice.... i can get me a cheap system with i5 for that and upgrade the graphics biggrin.gif

maybe i can settle with a 2.8 and overclock?



thnx alot for the reply's so far, don't have big budget as i have 2 kids and always feel guilty buying computerstuff tongue.gif so have to be sure to buy right
vetsieken is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off