Help!! My newly built system will not power on - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
bpf
Commodore 64
 
bpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got my first barebones...put everything together and hit the power button. It flashed for a sec..tried to start the fan and then....nothing!! i have checked all my connections 10X. Any help would be extremely appreciated!!!!!!

bpf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:17 AM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
check if the mobo is touching anything to cause a short circut.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BombF1rst go_quote.gif
Blink when gaming thumb.gif
silverwing is offline  
post #3 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:19 AM
Forum Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 61,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1329
Please use descriptive thread titles !

Welcome to Overclock
grouphug.gif Fold for the Cause, Fold for the People grouphug.gif
 
 
 

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  100 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ENTERPRISE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:23 AM
4.0ghz
 
Ninja_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 174
I must ask:

4GB of Ram and an 8600GTS? Try getting 2GB and getting an 8800GTS.

Now, on topic, make sure nothing is shorting out your Motherboard. Next, make sure all of the connector and right (make sure they are fully in).

NiNja
Ninja_Boy is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
bpf
Commodore 64
 
bpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
just wires. 2 led lights on the mobo come on when i turn the power supply on.

bpf is offline  
post #6 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:27 AM
4.0ghz
 
Ninja_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Is your montior on the correct input (Make sure it's on DVI and not D-Sub). Also, make sure all of your connection to and from the monitor and correctly attached.

NiNja
Ninja_Boy is offline  
post #7 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:29 AM
1.3ghz
 
kemo6600's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
When you push the start button ,, the fans start to spin ,, will it keep it or just suddenly stop

kemo6600 is offline  
post #8 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
bpf
Commodore 64
 
bpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
all connections are tight, checked again. what would the monitor have to do with it???

bpf is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
bpf
Commodore 64
 
bpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
the power led comes on for just a sec...then the fan tries to start to spin..moves a little..then the light goes out and nothing

bpf is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 06-20-2007, 11:34 AM
2.4ghz
 
jaslew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Have you checked the old 4-pin plug people tend to forget?

jaslew is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off