~$700 build - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-07-2010, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rome, NY
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,
A friend of mine asked me to price him out a system a few weeks ago since his crapped out. He only wants a tower , however.
He said as always cheaper is better. I had it under 700 but after much thought and talk with him he OK'ed me to go higher for more space.

The main uses will be:
Games - Aces High 2, Red Orchestra
Video Making - Vegas Pro, possibly Fraps
Surfing - Firefox



He is into RC'ing and wants to start doing films, so immediately I thought quad core for rendering. And more space for videos. Here's what I've got so far:
CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 940
MOBO - MSI 770-G45
RAM -
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB
HDD -
SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB
GFX -
SAPPHIRE 100283-2L Radeon HD 5770 1GB
PSU -
OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ500MXSP 500W
CASE -
NZXT GAMMA
HSF -
Cooler Master Hyper TX3


Some other misc parts, fans, cables, etc. Total in Wishlist is 745.
Now, would it be better to just get a 1TB drive and save a couple bucks?
I figure the 5770 is the best bang for the buck ATM, and it'll last him into the future a bit for gaming.
PSU can be replaced if there is a cheaper, better one. I like modular but sometimes you need to compensate. Black PSU would be great to match.
Would it be just better to go with the Athlon II x4 630 and save a couple more bucks? I debated that or an Phenom X3 and try unlocking. If not oh well.
I'd like to get the price back down but can't find much else to replace stuff with. I saw a Samsung 1TB on Egg for ~79, some EcoGreen thing. Only had 3 eggs however. As always, I understand, better parts = more money.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid go_quote.gif

Only on OCN will a tatto thread derail into a CPU stress-testing guide.
Xcelsior is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-07-2010, 05:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
The Phenom II 940 isn't an AM3 you would need to get the Phenom II 945
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-809-_-Product this Phenom II 945 is the C3 = better overclocking. Also save money and get this computer case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-115-_-Product
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-07-2010, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rome, NY
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
The Phenom II 940 isn't an AM3 you would need to get the Phenom II 945
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-809-_-Product this Phenom II 945 is the C3 = better overclocking. Also save money and get this computer case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-115-_-Product
Oops...I didn't notice it was AM2+...don't think I can afford going any higher however. Might just step down to an Athlon 630-635 x4 then.

As for the case...how is the cable mgmt? I've always stuck by NZXT for all of my cases. It is also cheaper after rebate...then again NZXT isn't too fond of speed/time when it comes to rebates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid go_quote.gif

Only on OCN will a tatto thread derail into a CPU stress-testing guide.
Xcelsior is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 06-07-2010, 05:29 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: chicity il
Posts: 1,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/Te...yWishList.aspx + http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.406230

lachen.gif LOL lachen.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCSarge go_quote.gif
i fold cause i wanna?

just kidding, cause zodac bugged me till i started
sharpshoooter82 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-07-2010, 05:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Oh the Gama does look like it has very nice cable management. Looks really decent I might have to use it for a next client build.
WannaBeOCer is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off