My noob question: The Budget Build! - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 12:47 PM
333mhz
 
hypnomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
So you have Windows and the Hard Drive already? That clears quite a chunk of the budget up. Here's what I recommend:
4GB Ripjaws RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231303

550W Corsair Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139004

ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131366

AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition Deneb 3.0GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103471

SAPPHIRE 100283L Radeon HD 5770*
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102858

COOLER MASTER Storm Scout*
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119196

Sub-Total: $688.93 USD

I don't personally own any of these components, so could anyone who has these vouch for/ against them?

*These two are available in a Combo that saves $25.
hypnomatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 12:49 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
darklink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 118
The OP mentioned that he has chosen a Phenom II X4 940BE processor which is AM2+. AM2+ CPUs cannot be used in an AM3 board. Need to get an AM2+ board which supports DDR2 RAM as the IMC in the 940BE does not support DDR3, only AM3 CPUs do.


Quote:
Originally Posted by IcedEarth go_quote.gif

I'd much rather spend that $16K on hookers and blow.
darklink is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 12:52 PM
333mhz
 
hypnomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklink View Post
The OP mentioned that he has chosen a Phenom II X4 940BE processor which is AM2+. AM2+ CPUs cannot be used in an AM3 board. Need to get an AM2+ board which supports DDR2 RAM as the IMC in the 940BE does not support DDR3, only AM3 CPUs do.
Oh, wow, I don't understand how I missed that. I'll fix that right away!

Edit: Do you already have the 940? If not, then getting a 945 and an AM3 mobo will be much more futureproof (I think AMD's next line of processors won't support AM2+)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103809
hypnomatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 12:54 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
darklink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 118
@ Yoy0,

For the few bucks that you would save looking at OCZ over G.Skill, I would say don't worry about it. The nice thing about the G.Skill PI Black kit is that it runs stock at 1066MHz with 5-5-5-15 timings and only 1.8v. Most of the CAS5 OCZ kits that are decent still require 2.0-2.1v. Not necessarily a bad thing, but at 1.8v for the G.Skill kit, there will be less heat output on the RAM.


Quote:
Originally Posted by IcedEarth go_quote.gif

I'd much rather spend that $16K on hookers and blow.
darklink is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 01:00 PM
1.7ghz
 
Tig.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas, United States
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypnomatic View Post
So you have Windows and the Hard Drive already? That clears quite a chunk of the budget up. Here's what I recommend:
4GB Ripjaws RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231303

550W Corsair Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139004

ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131366

AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition Deneb 3.0GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103471

SAPPHIRE 100283L Radeon HD 5770*
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102858

COOLER MASTER Storm Scout*
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119196

Sub-Total: $688.93 USD

I don't personally own any of these components, so could anyone who has these vouch for/ against them?

*These two are available in a Combo that saves $25.
This, but instead of the CPU get the AMD Phenom II X4 955 with the saved $25, if you can.

If you want to stay with the 940, then you can get this motherboard.
Tig. is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Yoy0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tig. View Post
This, but instead of the CPU get the AMD Phenom II X4 955 with the saved $25, if you can.

If you want to stay with the 940, then you can get this motherboard.
This, in the broader sense of words, is perfect.

I'm gonna order these parts straight away. I'll keep you guys posted!

And by the way, I know this is a super noob question, but is OC'ing with that set up worth it with the cooling it has?

Thanks!

Yoy0 is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 02:51 PM
333mhz
 
hypnomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoy0 View Post
This, in the broader sense of words, is perfect.

I'm gonna order these parts straight away. I'll keep you guys posted!

And by the way, I know this is a super noob question, but is OC'ing with that set up worth it with the cooling it has?

Thanks!
Generally it is inadvisable to OC with stock CPU cooling. Not saying it can't be done, it's just that stock cooling is the absolute minimum the manufacturer can get away with including. As such, you're probably better off sticking with stock for a little while and picking up an aftermarket cooler to overclock with at a later date.

By the way, which setup did you choose? The Phenom II 940, or the 955?
Yoy0 likes this.
hypnomatic is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Yoy0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypnomatic View Post
Generally it is inadvisable to OC with stock CPU cooling. Not saying it can't be done, it's just that stock cooling is the absolute minimum the manufacturer can get away with including. As such, you're probably better off sticking with stock for a little while and picking up an aftermarket cooler to overclock with at a later date.

By the way, which setup did you choose? The Phenom II 940, or the 955?
The 955 - I figured if I can have the cores unlocked it'll help me OC in future dates. Plus the casing looks awesome!

Yoy0 is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 03:34 PM
333mhz
 
hypnomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoy0 View Post
The 955 - I figured if I can have the cores unlocked it'll help me OC in future dates. Plus the casing looks awesome!
Then Allow me to direct you here:
http://www.overclock.net/computer-ca...cout-club.html
hypnomatic is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 06-09-2010, 05:08 PM
1.7ghz
 
Tig.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas, United States
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoy0 View Post
The 955 - I figured if I can have the cores unlocked it'll help me OC in future dates. Plus the casing looks awesome!
WAIT!

There is a difference between the 955 and the 555!

555 is 2 cores.

955 is 4 cores.

So that means you can not unlock the 955.
Tig. is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off